Muller completes SEAT double

Yvan Muller completed a double victory for SEAT in Mexico by holding off Andy Priaulx to win the second World Touring Car race at Puebla today

Muller completes SEAT double

Muller took the lead from team-mate Jordi Gene at the half way point and had to hold off the late charge of a BMW to secure the win, in similar fashion to Rickard Rydell's victory earlier in the day.

Polesitter Nicola Larini's Chevrolet was quickly deposed by a swarm of SEATs and BMWs on the way to Turn 1, and Muller was left with a free run at leader Gene when Gabriele Tarquini wiped Jorg Muller out of second place on lap six.

Yvan Muller grabbed the lead when Gene left the door open at Turn 5 two laps later, but Gene's mistake also allowed Priaulx through and the three-time champion spent the rest of the race hassling the reigning champion. The pair raced bumper to bumper in the closing stages but Priaulx was never quite able to find a way to challenge.

Race one winner Rydell came through the field just behind Priaulx and he too picked off Gene to claim the final spot on the podium. Gene was then passed by Farfus for fourth before making a mistake and falling behind the ROAL Motorsport BMWs of Sergio Hernandez and Alex Zanardi as well.

Tarquini also fell down the order after he ran wide and spun on his own a lap after hitting Jorg Muller. He eventually finished behind Gene in eighth but was later disqualified for taking Muller out.

Porteiro made it four independent wins on the trot and also took a point in the overall classification following Tarquini's punishment. Larini was promoted to ninth, with Frank Engstler's BMW completing the top 10 and the Chevrolets of Alain Menu and Rob Huff sandwiched the recovering Jorg Muller.

Pos Driver Car Time  1. Yvan Muller SEAT 26:41.014 2. Andy Priaulx BMW +0.459 3. Rickard Rydell SEAT +1.240 4. Augusto Farfus BMW +1.973 5. Sergio Hernandez BMW +5.819 6. Alex Zanardi BMW +6.281 7. Jordi Gene SEAT +11.755 8. Felix Porteiro BMW +15.513 9. Nicola Larini Chevrolet +16.593 10. Franz Engstler BMW +21.037 11. Alain Menu Chevrolet +22.795 12. Jorg Muller BMW +22.987 13. Robert Huff Chevrolet +23.644 14. Tom Coronel SEAT +24.218 15. Stefano D'Aste BMW +25.331 16. Jaap van Lagen Lada +39.330 17. George Tanev BMW +39.790 18. Viktor Shapovalov Lada +44.302 19. Kirill Ladygin Lada +48.976 20. Tom Boardman SEAT +2 laps Gabriele Tarquini SEAT EXC Retirements Marin Colak SEAT 12 laps Kristian Poulsen BMW 7 laps Tiago Monteiro SEAT 0 laps Fastest lap, Jorg Muller 1:38.287 
Rydell wins race one in Mexico

Previous article

Rydell wins race one in Mexico

Next article

WTCC considers Russian venues

WTCC considers Russian venues
Load comments
Why joker laps are entering the mainstream Plus

Why joker laps are entering the mainstream

This season the World Touring Car Championship looks certain to bring joker laps to a circuit-racing world championship for the first time. And it need not be the daft gimmick people may think

Apr 6, 2017
The making of the world's best tin-top driver Plus

The making of the world's best tin-top driver

He has been overshadowed at Citroen for the last three seasons, but the retirement of Yvan Muller means the world says farewell to one of touring-car racing's finest talents

Sep 26, 2016
Volvo's plan to conquer the WTCC Plus

Volvo's plan to conquer the WTCC

Volvo gave the World Touring Car Championship a major boost when it announced it would enter the series, but its ambitions don't stop there. JACK COZENS examines its programme, the S60 and what its arrival means for the WTCC

Jan 18, 2016
The WTCC's Nordschleife gamble paid off Plus

The WTCC's Nordschleife gamble paid off

A 17-car field on a 13-mile track - the WTCC's Nurburgring Nordschleife gamble wasn't going to be easy to pull off. STUART CODLING explains how the series made it work

May 20, 2015
Insight from a Nordschleife master Plus

Insight from a Nordschleife master

World championship racing returns to the Nordschleife this weekend. STUART CODLING got a lesson from one of the legendary track's few masters

May 15, 2015
Becoming world champion for £100k Plus

Becoming world champion for £100k

The 2012 World Touring Car champion says he never had the money to race cars. Yet 2015 is his 11th season in the WTCC. He talks STUART CODLING through his journey from motorsport fan to paid professional - for little more than £100,000

Mar 23, 2015
Can the vanquished champion bounce back? Plus

Can the vanquished champion bounce back?

The World Touring Car Championship kicks off in Argentina this weekend, and Yvan Muller bids to reclaim his throne from Citroen team-mate Jose Maria Lopez. He talks to STUART CODLING

Mar 6, 2015
The top 10 WTCC drivers of 2014 Plus

The top 10 WTCC drivers of 2014

Citroen had no rivals during the 2014 World Touring Car Championship, and 'rookie' Jose Maria Lopez hit the ground running to emerge as a worthy champion. PETER MILLS rates the field

Dec 3, 2014