Moscow WTCC: Honda's Tiago Monteiro resists Rob Huff's Lada for win

Honda's Tiago Monteiro remained out front ahead of Rob Huff's Lada in an action-packed second World Touring Car Championship race at Moscow Raceway to take his first win since 2013

The ex-Formula 1 driver finished the race three seconds clear of Huff, who came through to finish second at Lada's home event from seventh on the grid.

Monteiro led from the reverse grid pole position as fellow Civic driver Norbert Michelisz moved up into second ahead of Lada debutant Nicky Catsburg.

Ma Qing Hua also got a better start than Catsburg but ran wide at the first corner after slight contact, and was pushed back to fifth behind Hugo Valente.

Huff made quick work of passing Ma and Valente in the early stages and was up into a podium position by the end of lap five of 16 when he took third away from Catsburg at the final corner.

The British driver went on to claim second with a robust move on Michelisz, but was unable to do anything about Monteiro.

Portuguese racer Monteiro's win was the factory Honda team's first of the season, but it was a mixed race for the squad.

Gabriele Tarquini was following Huff through the order but his attempted move on Catsburg for fourth resulted in contact between the two, which fired the Italian veteran off track and into the barriers.

Catsburg survived the clash to make it two Ladas in the top four, while Ma was the first of the Citroens home in fifth after passing Valente at the final corner with four laps to go.

Sebastien Loeb attempted to follow his Chinese team-mate through but was instead dumped behind race one winner Yvan Muller, before both eventually worked their way ahead of Valente.

Muller had spent the earlier part of the race scrapping with team-mate and title rival Jose Maria Lopez before the Argentinian was forced to serve a drive-through penalty for jumping the start, leaving him 12th at the finish and out of the points for the first time this season.

That means Lopez's championship has been eroded from 50 points at the start of the weekend to 35 in front of Muller.


Pos Driver Team Car Gap
1 Tiago Monteiro Honda Racing Team JAS Honda 27m12.922s
2 Rob Huff LADA Sport Rosneft Lada 3.155s
3 Norbert Michelisz Zengo Motorsport Honda 5.549s
4 Nicky Catsburg LADA Sport Rosneft Lada 8.074s
5 Ma Qinghua Citroen Total WTCC Citroen 12.188s
6 Yvan Muller Citroen Total WTCC Citroen 14.674s
7 Sebastien Loeb Citroen Total WTCC Citroen 18.010s
8 Hugo Valente Campos Racing Chevrolet 20.803s
9 Tom Chilton ROAL Motorsport Chevrolet 20.968s
10 Tom Coronel ROAL Motorsport Chevrolet 21.207s
11 Rickard Rydell Nika International Honda 21.686s
12 Jose Maria Lopez Citroen Total WTCC Citroen 24.659s
13 Gregoire Demoustier Craft-Bamboo Racing Chevrolet 29.019s
14 Stefano D'Aste Munnich Motorsport Chevrolet 31.584s
15 John Filippi Campos Racing Chevrolet 34.404s
- Gabriele Tarquini Honda Racing Team JAS Honda Retirement
- Jaap van Lagen LADA Sport Rosneft Lada Retirement
- Mehdi Bennani Sebastien Loeb Racing Citroen Retirement


Pos Driver Points
1 Jose Maria Lopez 199
2 Yvan Muller 164
3 Sebastien Loeb 135
4 Tiago Monteiro 102
5 Ma Qinghua 84
6 Norbert Michelisz 82
7 Gabriele Tarquini 76
8 Tom Chilton 55
9 Rob Huff 41
10 Mehdi Bennani 40
11 Hugo Valente 35
12 Tom Coronel 24
13 Stefano D'Aste 16
14 Nicky Catsburg 12
15 James Thompson 6
16 John Filippi 5
17 Rickard Rydell 3
18 Jaap van Lagen 3
19 Gregoire Demoustier 2
20 Sabine Schmitz 1


Moscow WTCC: Yvan Muller beats Citroen team-mate Jose Maria Lopez

TC2000 champion Nestor Girolami gets two-round WTCC deal