Franciacorta World Rallycross: Solberg claims title, Hansen wins

Petter Solberg became the first World Rallycross champion with third place at Franciacorta in Italy, while Timmy Hansen gave Peugeot's Hansen-run works programme its first win

Solberg's points tally was sufficient for him to wrap up the title - his first since the 2003 World Rally Championship crown - even with two rounds remaining.

The event itself was won by Hansen, who topped the intermediate classification and his semi-final heat before emerging victorious in the final to score Team Peugeot-Hansen's first victory with its Peugeot 208.

Joined on the front row by team-mate Timur Timerzyanov, Hansen made the best start to lead into Turn 1.

Hounded by Solberg, second-placed Timerzyanov picked up a puncture at the end of the first lap, putting him out of the running.

Solberg took his joker on lap two and returned to the main field just ahead of Supercar debutant Ricahrd Goransson, who had headed for his joker after the opening lap.

As at previous events in Belgium and Canada, Solberg then broke the rear suspension on his Citroen DS3 after a heavy landing over a jump, and Goransson passed the Norwegian at the end of lap three.

Solberg needed to finish on the podium to clinch the title, and was helped by early retirements for both Johan Kristoffersson and Andreas Bakkerud.

With only three cars left running at speed, Solberg was able to play it safe and reached the finish in the third position he required.

Ahead, Hansen cruised to his first victory in the series, while Scandinavian Touring Car Championship frontrunner Goransson finished second.

Timerzyanov nursed his car home to finish fourth.

Title contenders Reinis Nitiss and Toomas Heikkinen both made it to the semi-final stages but neither was able to progress to the final and take the battle to Solberg to the next round in Turkey.

Ex-World Rally Championship driver Gigi Galli just missed out on a place in the final on his rallycross debut. He finished fourth in semi-final one.


Pos Driver Team Car Gap
1 Timmy Hansen Team Peugeot-Hansen Peugeot 4m55.473s
2 Richard Goransson Olsbergs MSE AB Ford 6.361s
3 Petter Solberg PS 110% AB Citroen 31.410s
4 Timur Timerzyanov Team Peugeot-Hansen Peugeot 57.682s
5 Johan Kristoffersson Kristoffersson Motorsport Volkswagen 5 Laps
6 Andreas Bakkerud Olsbergs MSE AB Ford 6 Laps
7 Anton Marklund Marklund Motorsport Volkswagen 6 Laps
8 Toomas Heikkinen Marklund Motorsport Volkswagen 6 Laps
9 Henning Solberg LD Motorsports Citroen 6 Laps
10 Robin Larsson Bergs Fegen Audi 6 Laps
11 Reinis Nitiss Olsbergs MSE AB Ford 6 Laps
12 Gigi Galli Olsbergs MSE AB Ford 6 Laps
13 Pontus Tidemand EKS Audi 6 Laps
14 Tommy Rustad HTB Racing Volvo 6 Laps
15 Davy Jeanney LD Motorsports Citroen 6 Laps
16 Emil Ohman Citroen 6 Laps
17 Alexandre Theuil Citroen 6 Laps
18 Linus Westman Per Eklund Motorsport Saab 6 Laps
19 Jacques Villeneuve Albatec Racing LTD Peugeot 6 Laps
20 Edward Sandstrom EKS Audi 6 Laps
21 Tord Linnerud Helmia Motorsport AB Renault 6 Laps
22 Morten Bermingrud Citroen 6 Laps
23 Peter Hedstrom Skoda 6 Laps
24 Andy Scott Albatec Racing LTD Peugeot 6 Laps
25 Rene Munnich Audi 6 Laps
26 Derek Tohill LD Motorsports Citroen 6 Laps
27 Pavel Koutny Czech National Team Ford 6 Laps
28 Christian Giarolo Ford 6 Laps
29 Tamas Karai Racing-Com Kft. Skoda 6 Laps
30 Roman Stepanenko TT Motorsport Citroen 6 Laps
31 Jerome Grosset-Janin Renault 6 Laps
32 Simone Romagna PS 110% AB Citroen 6 Laps
33 Tore Kristoffersen Ford 6 Laps
34 Attila Mozer Nyirad Motorsport Kft. Skoda 6 Laps
35 Bohdan Ludwiczak Ford 6 Laps
36 Erwin Untersalmberger Ford 6 Laps
37 Jos Jansen Ford 6 Laps
38 Lukas Walfridson Helmia Motorsport AB Renault 6 Laps


Franciacorta World Rallycross: Kristoffersson leads after day one

Andersson replaces Tidemand in Ekstrom's World Rallycross Audi team