Bahrain WEC: Allan McNish claims pole for Audi

Allan McNish claimed pole position for the Bahrain 6 Hours round of the FIA World Endurance Championship by less than a tenth of a second from Audi team-mate Marcel Fassler

McNish set his pole time on his second flying lap at the wheel of his Audi R18 e-tron quattro.

His time of 1m45.814s compared with Fassler's 1m45.888s.

The Toyota TS030 HYBRID that ended Audi's domination of the WEC at Interlagos earlier this month finished a further four tenths back in Nicolas Lapierre's hands.

McNish, who together with Tom Kristensen is racing the hybrid Audi for the first time since the Le Mans 24 Hours in June, said: "It was good to give something back to the mechanics who have had the big job of converting our car to hybrid specification. The car has been fast and reliable from the first moment.

"I wouldn't read too much into the four-tenth gap to the Toyota; I'm sure we are going to see something different in the race."

Fastest privateer prototype was the Rebellion Racing Lola-Toyota B16/60 in the hands of Neel Jani. The Swiss ended up nearly eight tenths quicker than Danny Watts in the Strakka Racing HPD ARX-03a.

Stephane Sarrazin claimed his second consecutive LMP2 pole for the Starworks HPD squad. The Frenchman was half a second quicker than John Martin in the ADR-Delta ORECA-Nissan 03.

Stefan Mucke followed up on Aston Martin Racing team-mate Darren Turner's Interlagos pole in GTE Pro. The German's mark was fractions faster than Richard Lietz managed in the Felbermayr-Proton Porsche 911 GT3-RSR.

Pos  Cl    Drivers                           Team/Car                Time
 1.  P1    Kristensen/McNish                 Audi                    1m45.814s
 2.  P1    Fassler/Lotterer/Treluyer         Audi                    1m45.888s
 3.  P1    Wurz/Lapierre                     Toyota                  1m46.254s
 4.  P1    Prost/Jani                        Rebellion Lola-Toyota   1m47.638s
 5.  P1    Leventis/Watts/Kane               Strakka HPD             1m48.446s
 6.  P1    Brabham/Chandhok/Dumbreck         JRM HPD                 1m48.784s
 7.  P2    Potolicchio/Kimber-Smith/Sarrazin Starworks HPD           1m51.798s
 8.  P2    Martin/Graves                     ADR Delta ORECA-Nissan  1m52.285s
 9.  P2    Nicolet/Lahaye/Pla                OAK Morgan-Nissan       1m52.368s
10.  P2    Baguette/Kraihamer/Brundle        OAK Morgan-Nissan       1m52.609s
11.  P2    Perez Companc/Minassian/Kaffer    Pecom ORECA-Nissan      1m52.624s
12.  P2    Liuzzi/Rossiter/Weeda             Lotus Lola-Lotus        1m52.696s
13.  P2    Panciatici/Ragues/Rusinov         Signatech ORECA-Nissan  1m53.328s
14.  P2    Holzer/Moro                       Lotus Lola-Lotus        1m53.733s
15.  P2    Mailleux/Lombard/Tresson          Signatech ORECA-Nissan  1m53.793s
16.  P2    Giroix/Ihara/Deletraz             Gulf Lola-Nissan        1m55.465s
17.  P2    Zugel/Gonzalez/Julian             Greaves Zytek-Nissan    1m58.603s
18.  GTE P Mucke/Turner                      Aston Martin            2m00.234s
19.  GTE P Lieb/Lietz                        Felbermayr Porsche      2m00.532s
20.  GTE P Fisichella/Vilander               AF Ferrari              2m01.522s
21.  GTE P Bertolini/Beretta                 AF Ferrari              2m01.861s
22.  GTE A Kauffman/Aguas/Vickers            AF-Waltrip Ferrari      2m02.812s
23.  GTE A Bornhauser/Canal/Rees             Larbre Corvette         2m03.253s
24.  GTE A Ried/Roda/Ruberti                 Felbermayr Porsche      2m03.686s
25.  GTE A Belloc/Bourret/Gibon              Larbre Corvette         2m04.934s
26.  GTE A Camathias/Simonsen/Daniels        JWA Porsche             2m05.572s
27.  GTE A Krohn/Jonsson/Rugolo              Krohn Ferrari           2m06.806s
28.  P1    Belicchi/Primat                   Rebellion Lola-Toyota   -
Previous article 2013 WEC features Silverstone opener and Austin replacing Sebring
Next article Sebring bullish about WEC date loss