Tander's Race, Todd Kelly's Round

Garth Tander took his first race victory of the year in race three but it was Todd Kelly who won the round at Hidden Valley

Tander's Race, Todd Kelly's Round

Tander's race win was not only his first race victory for 2005 but his first since winning the Bathurst 1000 endurance classic in 2000 with Jason Bargwanna. Todd Kelly's second place earned him the round win which was the first time in 2005 a driver has won two rounds, in this case also back-to-back.

With his win in race three, Tander finished the round second overall, with his teammate Rick Kelly third overall for the round after starting race one in 20th place.

There were mixed fortunes for other leading contenders. Steven Richards continued his recovery from race one dramas to finish race three in fourth, while Marcos Ambrose finished ninth just ahead of Craig Lowndes after a race long battle as they recovered from their race two dramas.

However Mark Skaife went the other way, starting second but ending the race in 26th after a slow pit stop saw him caught in the pack, coming into contact with other cars which late in the race saw him suffer a flat tyre.

All this drama has shaken up the points standings. Marcos Ambrose continues to lead, but Steven Richards has moved past Russell Ingall into second with Todd Kelly right behind Ingall with Mark Skaife still well placed in fifth.

As the field left the grid on the formation lap Russell Ingall was left stranded, and although he got a push start, he was then unable to restart under his own power when he returned to the pits and was out before the race began.

When the race got underway Kelly led away once more from Mark Skaife, with Garth Tander, Jason Richards and Rick Kelly close behind, Tander keeping right on the tail of the leading HRT duo.

Tander was the first of the leaders to pit, coming in on lap six. Todd Kelly and brother Rick pitted a lap later, Todd Kelly rejoining ahead of Tander but before the lap was half over Tander passed Todd Kelly.

Skaife was in on lap eight but a slow stop cost him several positions, leading to some contact with Paul Morris in the laps ahead.

A stranded Anthony Tratt brought the safety car out on lap seventeen. The race restarted on lap nineteen, Tander leading Todd and Rick Kelly, Steven Richards who had charged his way up the order and Jason Bright.

Despite another safety car period and some late race pressure from Todd Kelly, Tander went on to win the race ahead of Todd Kelly, with Rick Kelly third ahead of Steven Richards and Glenn Seton as Jason Bright faded late in the race to eighth place.

Result of Race Three, SkyCity V8 Supercars Darwin, Hidden Valley Raceway:

Pos Driver Car 1. Garth Tander Holden Commodore VZ 2. Todd Kelly Holden Commodore VZ 3. Rick Kelly Holden Commodore VZ 4. Steven Richards Holden Commodore VY 5. Glenn Seton Ford Falcon BA 6. Steve Ellery Ford Falcon BA 7. Steven Johnson Ford Falcon BA 8. Jason Bright Ford Falcon BA 9. Marcos Ambrose Ford Falcon BA 10. Craig Lowndes Ford Falcon BA 11. Paul Dumbrell Holden Commodore VY 12. John Bowe Ford Falcon BA 13. Max Wilson Holden Commodore VZ 14. Paul Weel Holden Commodore VZ 15. Jason Richards Holden Commodore VZ 16. Craig Baird Ford Falcon BA 17. Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VZ 18. Paul Morris Holden Commodore VZ 19. Jason Bargwanna Ford Falcon BA 20. Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon BA 21. Steve Owen Ford Falcon BA 22. Cameron McConville Holden Commodore VZ 23. Matthew White Ford Falcon BA 24. Greg Ritter Ford Falcon BA 25. David Besnard Ford Falcon BA 26. Mark Skaife Holden Commodore VZ 27. Paul Radisich Holden Commodore VZ DNF Alex Davison Holden Commodore VZ DNF Simon Wills Holden Commodore VZ DNF Andrew Jones Holden Commodore VZ DNF Greg Murphy Holden Commodore VZ DNF Anthony Tratt Holden Commodore VY DNF Brad Jones Ford Falcon BA DNF Russell Ingall Ford Falcon BA 
Two from Two for Todd Kelly
Previous article

Two from Two for Todd Kelly

Next article

Two More Years for Pukekohe

Two More Years for Pukekohe
When Nissan ruled Australia with its 'Godzilla' Group A special Plus

When Nissan ruled Australia with its 'Godzilla' Group A special

The Nissan Skyline R32 GT-R was the fastest Group A touring car ever. It cleaned up at the Bathurst 1000 and in the Australian Touring Car Championship, and is fondly remembered by the drivers who monstered it to success on the world-famous Mount Panorama

Feb 8, 2022
Ranking the top 10 Supercars drivers of 2021 Plus

Ranking the top 10 Supercars drivers of 2021

It may have been a one-man title fight in Supercars this season, but behind dominant champion Shane van Gisbergen were some fascinating performances. Autosport picks out the best drivers of the 2021 campaign.

Dec 10, 2021
The well-travelled racer now Supercars' elder statesman Plus

The well-travelled racer now Supercars' elder statesman

James Courtney has been around the block in his motorsport career it's fair to say. After a single-seater career cut short, he's won everything there is to win in Supercars. Following a rocky ride recently in the Australian category, he's found a happy hunting ground with Tickford Racing, as Andrew van Leeuwen explains

Oct 19, 2021
How taming his temper shaped Supercars' slow-burn star Plus

How taming his temper shaped Supercars' slow-burn star

His decision to leave Brad Jones Racing was the biggest shock of the Australian Supercars silly season so far. But for Nick Percat, it comes as the culmination of a personal journey that has made him into one of the most rounded drivers in the series, now in search of a seat that can make him a champion

Sep 16, 2021
Why replacing Supercars' GOAT with a teenager is worth the risk for T8 Plus

Why replacing Supercars' GOAT with a teenager is worth the risk for T8

On the face of it, picking an 18-year-old rookie to replace arguably the greatest Supercars driver of all time is a risky move. But as Jamie Whincup takes up a team principal role and hands his car to Broc Feeney, it's one that he is confident will be rewarded in the fullness of time - time which wasn't afforded to Whincup in his early days

Aug 31, 2021
Can DJR still be a Supercars powerhouse after Penske? Plus

Can DJR still be a Supercars powerhouse after Penske?

OPINION: Roger Penske's operation helped lift Dick Johnson's faltering Ford team back to the top of Australian tin-tops. But, despite The Captain's departure, along with star driver Scott McLaughlin, there's no reason to expect an imminent decline from DJR

Feb 26, 2021
Why Whincup's next move is no calculated gamble Plus

Why Whincup's next move is no calculated gamble

Supercars' most successful team of the past 15 years is set for a radical shakeup next year when Jamie Whincup retires from driving and takes over the reins at Triple Eight. But the team's outgoing boss Roland Dane has full faith that he'll be up to the task

Feb 5, 2021
The top 10 Supercars drivers of 2020 Plus

The top 10 Supercars drivers of 2020

In a year of few constants, the Australian Supercars championship could be relied upon for its usual blend of rough and tumble racing with a V8 soundtrack. But who were its top performers in 2020?

Dec 27, 2020