Tander Takes Sandown Pole

Garth Tander took a surprise pole position for Sunday's Betta Electrical 500 at Sandown International Raceway

Tander, in the car he is sharing with Rick Kelly, took pole in the shootout having only set the ninth fastest time in regular qualifying. Beside him will be Craig Lowndes in the car he is sharing with BTCC regular Yvan Muller, while third on the grid is Greg Murphy in the car he will be sharing with Paul Weel.

After topping the times in regular qualifying, Marcos Ambrose and Warren Luff will start fifth, just behind teammates Russell Ingall and Luke Youlden. Sixth is the Holden Racing Team's lead pairing of Mark Skaife and Todd Kelly.

Other starters of interest include Jim Richards and James Courtney in the second HRT car in 18th and the 'Team Australia' WPS Falcon of Alex Tagliani and Marcus Marshall in 25th, two places behind teammates David Besnard and Craig Baird.

Qualifying results, Betta Electrical 500, Sandown International Raceway:

Pos  Driver                                Car
 1.  Garth Tander/Rick Kelly               Holden Commodore VZ
 2.  Craig Lowndes/Yvan Muller             Ford Falcon BA
 3.  Greg Murphy/Paul Weel                 Holden Commodore VZ
 4.  Russell Ingall/Luke Youlden           Ford Falcon BA
 5.  Marcos Ambrose/Warren Luff            Ford Falcon BA
 6.  Mark Skaife/Rick Kelly                Holden Commodore VZ
 7.  Steve Ellery/Adam Macrow              Ford Falcon BA
 8.  Steven Richards/Paul Dumbrell         Holden Commodore VY
 9.  Jason Bright/David Brabham            Ford Falcon BA
10.  Steven Johnson/Will Davison           Ford Falcon BA
11.  Cameron McConville/Andrew Jones       Holden Commodore VZ
12.  John Bowe/Brad Jones                  Ford Falcon BA
13.  Jason Richards/Jamie Whincup          Holden Commodore VZ
14.  Jason Bargwanna/Mark Winterbottom     Ford Falcon BA
15.  Greg Ritter/Cameron McLean            Ford Falcon BA
16.  Max Wilson/Simon Wills                Holden Commodore VZ
17.  Glenn Seton/Dean Canto                Ford Falcon BA
18.  Jim Richards/James Courtney           Holden Commodore VZ
19.  Paul Morris/Paul Radisich             Holden Commodore VZ
20.  Dale Brede/John Cleland               Ford Falcon BA
21.  Owen Kelly/Nathan Pretty              Holden Commodore VZ
22.  Steve Owen/Matthew White              Ford Falcon BA
23.  David Besnard/Craig Baird             Ford Falcon BA
24.  Mathew Halliday/Alain Menu            Ford Falcon BA
25.  Marcus Marshall/Alex Tagliani         Ford Falcon BA
26.  Fabian Coulthard/Tony D'Alberto       Holden Commodore VZ
27.  Lee Holdsworth/Philip Scifleet        Holden Commodore VZ
28.  Mark Noske/Tim Leahey                 Holden Commodore VZ
29.  Anthony Tratt/Tony Evangelou          Holden Commodore VY
30.  John Faulkner/Alan Gurr               Holden Commodore VZ
31.  Alex Davison/Allan Simonsen           Holden Commodore VZ
32.  Christian D'Agostin/Matthew Coleman   Holden Commodore VY
33.  Mark Porter/Kane Scott                Holden Commodore VZ
34.  Jose Fernandez/Damien White           Ford Falcon BA
Previous article Bahrain to Host V8 Rounds
Next article Lowndes, Muller Take Sandown Win