Murphy dominates race 1

Greg Murphy continued from where he left off in qualifying to take a dominant victory in the first V8 Supercar race of the weekend at Surfers Paradise

Murphy dominates race 1

Murphy led from lights to flag apart from a couple of laps during pit stops, as he took a relatively comfortable victory. Second was Craig Lowndes, back on form after his error at Bathurst with third place taken by Bathurst winner Mark Skaife.

The race saw a major shift in the complexion of the championship, with three of the frontrunners having disastrous races. Steven Richards, Todd Kelly and Marcos Ambrose all struck trouble within the opening two laps, and will start race two from 27th, 31st and 32nd respectively, as championship leader Russell Ingall consolidated by taking fourth place.

Going into the race with a two point lead, Ingall now has a 60 point lead over Ambrose and 134 point lead over Kelly, with the rest of the field further back. More importantly, while Ingall will start race two from fourth, his two closest challengers, Kelly and Ambrose, will start from the last row on a track notoriously hard to pass on.

The start of the race saw a frantic dash to the turn one chicane, Murphy leading as the two teammates of Todd Kelly and Mark Skaife jumped the chicane to avoid contact with each other, with Steven Richards and Marcos Ambrose in close pursuit. Ambrose dived inside Richards to take fourth place early in the lap.

But before lap one was over Steven Richards was heading for the pits with damage after clipping the wall on the exit of turn four, and Marcos Ambrose was slowing with a clutch problem that would end his race almost immediately. Lap two saw more drama as second placed Todd Kelly retired with smoke pouring from the front of his car.

From there the race settled down, with the only drama to follow involving Mark Skaife when he was forced to concede second to Lowndes after missing the first chicane on lap 25, Murphy taking the win ahead of Lowndes, Skaife, Ingall and Cameron McConville.

Result of race one:

Pos  Driver              Car
 1.  Greg Murphy         Holden Commodore VZ
 2.  Craig Lowndes       Ford Falcon BA
 3.  Mark Skaife         Holden Commodore VZ
 4.  Russell Ingall      Ford Falcon BA
 5.  Cameron McConville  Holden Commodore VZ
 6.  Jason Richards      Holden Commodore VZ
 7.  Steve Ellery        Ford Falcon BA
 8.  Jason Bright        Ford Falcon BA
 9.  Rick Kelly          Holden Commodore VZ
10.  Garth Tander        Holden Commodore VZ
11.  Craig Baird         Ford Falcon BA
12.  David Besnard       Ford Falcon BA
13.  Paul Radisich       Holden Commodore VZ
14.  Steven Johnson      Ford Falcon BA
15.  Jamie Whincup       Holden Commodore VZ
16.  John Bowe           Ford Falcon BA
17.  Brad Jones          Ford Falcon BA
18.  Anthony Tratt       Holden Commodore VY
19.  Greg Ritter         Ford Falcon BA
20.  Dean Canto          Holden Commodore VZ
21.  Mark Winterbottom   Ford Falcon BA
22.  Paul Dumbrell       Holden Commodore VY
23.  Glenn Seton         Ford Falcon BA
24.  Paul Morris         Holden Commodore VZ
25.  Matthew White       Ford Falcon BA
26.  Max Wilson          Holden Commodore VZ
27.  Steven Richards     Holden Commodore VY
DNF  Alex Davison        Holden Commodore VZ
DNF  Paul Weel           Holden Commodore VZ
DNF  Jason Bargwanna     Ford Falcon BA
DNF  Todd Kelly          Holden Commodore VZ
DNF  Marcos Ambrose      Ford Falcon BA
Murphy takes Surfers pole
Previous article

Murphy takes Surfers pole

Next article

Lowndes takes race 2

Lowndes takes race 2
When Nissan ruled Australia with its 'Godzilla' Group A special Plus

When Nissan ruled Australia with its 'Godzilla' Group A special

The Nissan Skyline R32 GT-R was the fastest Group A touring car ever. It cleaned up at the Bathurst 1000 and in the Australian Touring Car Championship, and is fondly remembered by the drivers who monstered it to success on the world-famous Mount Panorama

Feb 8, 2022
Ranking the top 10 Supercars drivers of 2021 Plus

Ranking the top 10 Supercars drivers of 2021

It may have been a one-man title fight in Supercars this season, but behind dominant champion Shane van Gisbergen were some fascinating performances. Autosport picks out the best drivers of the 2021 campaign.

Dec 10, 2021
The well-travelled racer now Supercars' elder statesman Plus

The well-travelled racer now Supercars' elder statesman

James Courtney has been around the block in his motorsport career it's fair to say. After a single-seater career cut short, he's won everything there is to win in Supercars. Following a rocky ride recently in the Australian category, he's found a happy hunting ground with Tickford Racing, as Andrew van Leeuwen explains

Oct 19, 2021
How taming his temper shaped Supercars' slow-burn star Plus

How taming his temper shaped Supercars' slow-burn star

His decision to leave Brad Jones Racing was the biggest shock of the Australian Supercars silly season so far. But for Nick Percat, it comes as the culmination of a personal journey that has made him into one of the most rounded drivers in the series, now in search of a seat that can make him a champion

Sep 16, 2021
Why replacing Supercars' GOAT with a teenager is worth the risk for T8 Plus

Why replacing Supercars' GOAT with a teenager is worth the risk for T8

On the face of it, picking an 18-year-old rookie to replace arguably the greatest Supercars driver of all time is a risky move. But as Jamie Whincup takes up a team principal role and hands his car to Broc Feeney, it's one that he is confident will be rewarded in the fullness of time - time which wasn't afforded to Whincup in his early days

Aug 31, 2021
Can DJR still be a Supercars powerhouse after Penske? Plus

Can DJR still be a Supercars powerhouse after Penske?

OPINION: Roger Penske's operation helped lift Dick Johnson's faltering Ford team back to the top of Australian tin-tops. But, despite The Captain's departure, along with star driver Scott McLaughlin, there's no reason to expect an imminent decline from DJR

Feb 26, 2021
Why Whincup's next move is no calculated gamble Plus

Why Whincup's next move is no calculated gamble

Supercars' most successful team of the past 15 years is set for a radical shakeup next year when Jamie Whincup retires from driving and takes over the reins at Triple Eight. But the team's outgoing boss Roland Dane has full faith that he'll be up to the task

Feb 5, 2021
The top 10 Supercars drivers of 2020 Plus

The top 10 Supercars drivers of 2020

In a year of few constants, the Australian Supercars championship could be relied upon for its usual blend of rough and tumble racing with a V8 soundtrack. But who were its top performers in 2020?

Dec 27, 2020