Lowndes wins race 3

Craig Lowndes continued his championship revival as he won the third V8 Supercar race at Surfers Paradise, winning the round overall along the way

Lowndes wins race 3

Lowndes took another start-to-finish win to make it two wins and a second in the three races. Mark Skaife and Greg Murphy were close behind to complete the podium in race three, and finished third and second overall respectively.

Ingall, who had been having a great weekend until after race two, then had a nightmare in race three. After aborting an entry to pit lane on lap six to avoid hitting the back of Steve Ellery, costing him several places, he pitted next lap around, only to miss the second chicane on his out lap as he experienced brake problems.

Then to add insult to injury, Ingall was given a drive-through penalty for clipping the yellow line on the lap he aborted his pit entry, stewards apparently preferring he had run into the back of Ellery than abort and lose track position. Ingall finished the race in 24th position.

Ironically Marcos Ambrose's bad weekend finally had a good turn, as he charged through the field to finish eleventh.

What this means is the championship has compressed once more. Ingall still leads, but a pack of four sit within reach. Ambrose is 66 points back, Lowndes is 81 behind, Skaife 94 and Todd Kelly 110 points, less than two race wins with six races remaining in the final two rounds.

Steven Richards, who began the weekend 121 points behind Ingall, had a weekend to forget and is now sixth, 191 points off the lead with a maximum of 384 points available.

The start saw Lowndes keep the lead as behind him Murphy and Tander diced for second while Skaife dropped to fourth just ahead of Cameron McConville.

During the mid-race pitstops Skaife was the big winner, moving past both Murphy and Tander into second place as Lowndes streaked away at the front.

A late-race caution bunched the field up but the order remained static after the restart, Lowndes winning from Skaife, Murphy, Garth Tander and McConville.

Result of race three:

Pos Driver Car 1. Craig Lowndes Ford Falcon BA 2. Mark Skaife Holden Commodore VZ 3. Greg Murphy Holden Commodore VZ 4. Garth Tander Holden Commodore VZ 5. Cameron McConville Holden Commodore VZ 6. Rick Kelly Holden Commodore VZ 7. Steve Ellery Ford Falcon BA 8. Todd Kelly Holden Commodore VZ 9. Jason Bright Ford Falcon BA 10. Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VZ 11. Marcos Ambrose Ford Falcon BA 12. Steven Johnson Ford Falcon BA 13. Dean Canto Holden Commodore VZ 14. Max Wilson Holden Commodore VZ 15. Greg Ritter Ford Falcon BA 16. Paul Weel Holden Commodore VZ 17. John Bowe Ford Falcon BA 18. Steven Richards Holden Commodore VY 19. Jason Richards Holden Commodore VZ 20. Glenn Seton Ford Falcon BA 21. David Besnard Ford Falcon BA 22. Paul Dumbrell Holden Commodore VY 23. Alex Davison Holden Commodore VZ 24. Russell Ingall Ford Falcon BA 25. Paul Morris Holden Commodore VZ 26. Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon BA 27. Paul Radisich Holden Commodore VZ 28. Brad Jones Ford Falcon BA 29. Craig Baird Ford Falcon BA 30. Anthony Tratt Holden Commodore VY DNF Matthew White Ford Falcon BA DNF Jason Bargwanna Ford Falcon BA 
Ingall, Richards penalised

Previous article

Ingall, Richards penalised

Next article

Courtney signs for SBR

Courtney signs for SBR
Load comments

About this article

Series Supercars
Drivers Craig Lowndes
Author David Wright
Can DJR still be a Supercars powerhouse after Penske? Plus

Can DJR still be a Supercars powerhouse after Penske?

OPINION: Roger Penske's operation helped lift Dick Johnson's faltering Ford team back to the top of Australian tin-tops. But, despite The Captain's departure, along with star driver Scott McLaughlin, there's no reason to expect an imminent decline from DJR

Feb 26, 2021
Why Whincup's next move is no calculated gamble Plus

Why Whincup's next move is no calculated gamble

Supercars' most successful team of the past 15 years is set for a radical shakeup next year when Jamie Whincup retires from driving and takes over the reins at Triple Eight. But the team's outgoing boss Roland Dane has full faith that he'll be up to the task

Feb 5, 2021
The top 10 Supercars drivers of 2020 Plus

The top 10 Supercars drivers of 2020

In a year of few constants, the Australian Supercars championship could be relied upon for its usual blend of rough and tumble racing with a V8 soundtrack. But who were its top performers in 2020?

Dec 27, 2020
The 'lifetime deal' that broke down in double quick time Plus

The 'lifetime deal' that broke down in double quick time

Last year, David Reynolds signed a decade-long deal with Erebus, seemingly pledging his long-term Supercars future to the team. One year on, "Decade Dave's" contract has been reduced to tatters, with an undercurrent of discontent having brewed in 2020

Dec 18, 2020
How Supercars now needs a new "human salt harvester" Plus

How Supercars now needs a new "human salt harvester"

Scott McLaughlin has been a divisive figure in Supercars over the past few years but, as he heads off to a fresh challenge in IndyCar, the Australian tin-top series needs to find someone else to fill his dramatic boots as the category enters a new era

Oct 30, 2020
Why McLaughlin is wrong to label 2020 his best title Plus

Why McLaughlin is wrong to label 2020 his best title

OPINION: Scott McLaughlin was quick to describe his third Supercars title as his best yet. But even though it didn't match the dramatic backstory of his 2018 triumph, there's a good reason for him wanting to control the narrative this time around

Oct 2, 2020
Why Supercars would settle for an anticlimactic title race Plus

Why Supercars would settle for an anticlimactic title race

It's a predicament that has faced the World Endurance Championship in the past, and now it's the turn of Supercars to have its biggest race - the Bathurst 1000 - taking the final slot on the calendar. Will its wider significance upstage the title battle?

Sep 4, 2020
The 10-year wait for a Supercars champion halted by coronavirus Plus

The 10-year wait for a Supercars champion halted by coronavirus

When the Supercars season resumes James Courtney will be a Tickford Racing driver - but it's not the first time the star driver has flirted with the famous Ford squad

May 18, 2020