Lowndes Fastest in Qualifying

Craig Lowndes set the fastest lap of the weekend so far to be fastest in qualifying for Sunday's Super Cheap Auto 1000 at Mount Panorama, Bathurst

Lowndes Fastest in Qualifying

1996 Bathurst winner Lowndes continued his run at the top of the times by setting a 2:07.1322 to be fastest going into tomorrow's shootout which will decide the top ten grid positions for Sunday's race. Lowndes is well placed to break the manufacturer's victory drought at the track, with Ford taking its last win at Bathurst in 1998.

Second fastest was four-times Bathurst victor Mark Skaife in a Holden, followed by reigning series champ Marcos Ambrose in his Ford. Fourth fastest was 2000 Bathurst winner Garth Tander in a car he will be sharing with 2003 and 2004 Bathurst winner Rick Kelly, while fifth fastest is Kelly's co-driver for those two wins, Greg Murphy, in a Holden.

The remainder of the top ten is completed by Steven Richards, Jason Richards, Russell Ingall, Glenn Seton and Jim Richards, with a sprinkling of race wins in that group - two wins for Steven Richards and Ingall, and six for Steven's father Jim.

A couple of teams have been disappointing, with Steve Ellery in the sister car to Lowndes back in 16th, nearly two seconds off the pace. Even more disappointing is the car of John Bowe and Brad Jones, down in 26th place, 3.3 seconds off the pace after being regular front runners in recent years.

Qualifying, Super Cheap Auto 1000, Mount Panorama, Bathurst, Australia:

Pos Driver                               Car                  Time
 1. Craig Lowndes/Yvan Muller            Ford Falcon BA       2:07.1322
 2. Mark Skaife/Todd Kelly               Holden Commodore VZ  2:07.5333
 3. Marcos Ambrose/Warren Luff           Ford Falcon BA       2:07.7357
 4. Garth Tander/Rick Kelly              Holden Commodore VZ  2:07.7622
 5. Greg Murphy/Paul Weel                Holden Commodore VZ  2:07.8709
 6. Steven Richards/Paul Dumbrell        Holden Commodore VY  2:07.9291
 7. Jason Richards/Jamie Whincup         Holden Commodore VZ  2:08.1325
 8. Russell Ingall/Luke Youlden          Ford Falcon BA       2:08.2643
 9. Glenn Seton/Dean Canto               Ford Falcon BA       2:08.3326
10. Jim Richards/James Courtney          Holden Commodore VZ  2:08.4261
11. Cameron McConville/Andrew Jones      Holden Commodore VZ  2:08.7164
12. Jason Bright/David Brabham           Ford Falcon BA       2:08.7959
13. Greg Ritter/Cameron McLean           Ford Falcon BA       2:08.8407
14. Steve Owen/Matthew White             Ford Falcon BA       2:08.9035
15. Steven Johnson/Will Davison          Ford Falcon BA       2:08.9187
16. Steve Ellery/Adam Macrow             Ford Falcon BA       2:08.9688
17. Jason Bargwanna/Mark Winterbottom    Ford Falcon BA       2:08.9762
18. Max Wilson/Tony Longhurst            Holden Commodore VZ  2:09.1330
19. David Besnard/Craig Baird            Ford Falcon BA       2:09.1772
20. Paul Morris/Paul Radisich            Holden Commodore VZ  2:09.2243
21. Mark Noske/Tim Leahey                Holden Commodore VZ  2:09.3515
22. Alain Menu/Matthew Halliday          Ford Falcon BA       2:09.6180
23. Alex Davison/Allan Simonsen          Holden Commodore VZ  2:09.7065
24. Anthony Tratt/Tony Evangelou         Holden Commodore VY  2:09.9967
25. Tony D'Alberto/Fabian Coulthard      Holden Commodore VZ  2:10.3515
26. John Bowe/Brad Jones                 Ford Falcon BA       2:10.4709
27. Alan Gurr/John Faulkner              Holden Commodore VZ  2:10.5187
28. Lee Holdsworth/Philip Scifleet       Holden Commodore VZ  2:10.6179
29. John Cleland/Dale Brede              Ford Falcon BA       2:10.7695
30. Mark Porter/Kayne Scott              Holden Commodore VZ  2:11.3887
31. Christian D'Agostin/Matthew Coleman  Holden Commodore VY  2:11.4367
32. Jose Fernandez/Damien White          Ford Falcon BA       2:13.8347
33. Owen Kelly/Mathan Pretty             Holden Commodore VZ  2:18.8718
    Marcus Marshall/Alex Tagliani        Ford Falcon BA       -
Stoddart to Back V8 Supercar Team
Previous article

Stoddart to Back V8 Supercar Team

Next article

Lowndes Leads Ford Front Row

Lowndes Leads Ford Front Row
When Nissan ruled Australia with its 'Godzilla' Group A special Plus

When Nissan ruled Australia with its 'Godzilla' Group A special

The Nissan Skyline R32 GT-R was the fastest Group A touring car ever. It cleaned up at the Bathurst 1000 and in the Australian Touring Car Championship, and is fondly remembered by the drivers who monstered it to success on the world-famous Mount Panorama

Feb 8, 2022
Ranking the top 10 Supercars drivers of 2021 Plus

Ranking the top 10 Supercars drivers of 2021

It may have been a one-man title fight in Supercars this season, but behind dominant champion Shane van Gisbergen were some fascinating performances. Autosport picks out the best drivers of the 2021 campaign.

Dec 10, 2021
The well-travelled racer now Supercars' elder statesman Plus

The well-travelled racer now Supercars' elder statesman

James Courtney has been around the block in his motorsport career it's fair to say. After a single-seater career cut short, he's won everything there is to win in Supercars. Following a rocky ride recently in the Australian category, he's found a happy hunting ground with Tickford Racing, as Andrew van Leeuwen explains

Oct 19, 2021
How taming his temper shaped Supercars' slow-burn star Plus

How taming his temper shaped Supercars' slow-burn star

His decision to leave Brad Jones Racing was the biggest shock of the Australian Supercars silly season so far. But for Nick Percat, it comes as the culmination of a personal journey that has made him into one of the most rounded drivers in the series, now in search of a seat that can make him a champion

Sep 16, 2021
Why replacing Supercars' GOAT with a teenager is worth the risk for T8 Plus

Why replacing Supercars' GOAT with a teenager is worth the risk for T8

On the face of it, picking an 18-year-old rookie to replace arguably the greatest Supercars driver of all time is a risky move. But as Jamie Whincup takes up a team principal role and hands his car to Broc Feeney, it's one that he is confident will be rewarded in the fullness of time - time which wasn't afforded to Whincup in his early days

Aug 31, 2021
Can DJR still be a Supercars powerhouse after Penske? Plus

Can DJR still be a Supercars powerhouse after Penske?

OPINION: Roger Penske's operation helped lift Dick Johnson's faltering Ford team back to the top of Australian tin-tops. But, despite The Captain's departure, along with star driver Scott McLaughlin, there's no reason to expect an imminent decline from DJR

Feb 26, 2021
Why Whincup's next move is no calculated gamble Plus

Why Whincup's next move is no calculated gamble

Supercars' most successful team of the past 15 years is set for a radical shakeup next year when Jamie Whincup retires from driving and takes over the reins at Triple Eight. But the team's outgoing boss Roland Dane has full faith that he'll be up to the task

Feb 5, 2021
The top 10 Supercars drivers of 2020 Plus

The top 10 Supercars drivers of 2020

In a year of few constants, the Australian Supercars championship could be relied upon for its usual blend of rough and tumble racing with a V8 soundtrack. But who were its top performers in 2020?

Dec 27, 2020