Ingall Wins Race Three

Russell Ingall held on after another close battle to take the win in race three at Barbagallo Raceway in Western Australia

Ingall edged out Richards in a reversal of the top two positions from race two. But Richards won the round overall with a win, a second and a third, just edging out Russell Ingall, with Marcos Ambrose finishing the round third overall despite his race two drama.

Richards held on to the lead at the start from Ingall as a little further down the grid there was drama. Paul Weel moved across the front of Ambrose in exactly the same manner as Ambrose had done in race two on Skaife, except it was even further before the turn.

Ambrose had all four wheels on the grass while Weel ended up with two wheels on the grass as well. Both drivers regained control of their cars and slotted in without losing ground, and without either driver being penalised.

Richards again lost the lead when the field made pit stops, with Ingall taking over at the front of the pack, while Ambrose moved up to third place.

Craig Lowndes had a poor race three and was falling down the order with problems when he and Ritter made contact, both cars going off the track and into the wall. Lowndes crawled back to the pits, while Ritter's day ended soon afterwards in the sand. He was soon joined by Brad Jones who ended a race on his roof for the second time in two rounds, bringing out the safety car.

Ingall held off Richards' attacks in the closing laps to take the win, with Ambrose a close third. Paul Weel was fourth ahead of Steven Johnson, who was closely followed by teammates Mark Skaife and Todd Kelly, Skaife recovering well after his second race drama.

Ambrose continues to lead the championship, but only by eleven points from teammate Ingall. Third is Steven Richards, a further 97 points back, with Paul Weel and Mark Skaife close behind.

Result of Perth V8 400 Race Three, Barbagallo Raceway, Wanneroo:

Pos  Driver              Car
 1.  Russell Ingall      Ford Falcon BA
 2.  Steven Richards     Holden Commodore VY
 3.  Marcos Ambrose      Ford Falcon BA
 4.  Paul Weel           Holden Commodore VZ
 5.  Steven Johnson      Ford Falcon BA
 6.  Mark Skaife         Holden Commodore VZ
 7.  Todd Kelly          Holden Commodore VZ
 8.  John Bowe           Ford Falcon BA
 9.  Glenn Seton         Ford Falcon BA
10.  Steve Ellery        Ford Falcon BA
11.  Paul Morris         Holden Commodore VZ
12.  Jason Bargwanna     Ford Falcon BA
13.  Garth Tander        Holden Commodore VZ
14.  Jamie Whincup       Holden Commodore VZ
15.  Rick Kelly          Holden Commodore VZ
16.  Craig Baird         Ford Falcon BA
17.  Jason Richards      Holden Commodore VZ
18.  Simon Wills         Holden Commodore VZ
19.  Cameron McConville  Holden Commodore VZ
20.  David Besnard       Ford Falcon BA
21.  Mark Winterbottom   Ford Falcon BA
22.  Jason Bright        Ford Falcon BA
23.  Anthony Tratt       Holden Commodore VY
24.  Paul Dumbrell       Holden Commodore VZ
25.  Andrew Jones        Holden Commodore VZ
26.  Matthew White       Ford Falcon BA
DNF  Max Wilson          Holden Commodore VZ
DNF  Greg Murphy         Holden Commodore VZ
DNF  Brad Jones          Ford Falcon BA
DNF  Greg Ritter         Ford Falcon BA
DNF  Craig Lowndes       Ford Falcon BA
DNF  Paul Radisich       Holden Commodore VZ

Previous article Richards Takes Race Two
Next article Ambrose Under Investigation