Ingall Takes Race 2

Russell Ingall won race two to take the overall round win and his first podium finish at Oran Park Raceway

Ingall Takes Race 2

Ingall fought and beat his teammate Marcos Ambrose after Ambrose took a spell in the lead, to strengthen his fight for this year's title. Race one winner Steven Richards struggled, finishing the race in eleventh after looking set for a top five finish. A second third place finish for Greg Murphy saw him finish third overall for the round behind Ingall and Ambrose.

Ingall's round win moved him into second place in the standings 106 point behind his teammate Ambrose, 17 points ahead of Richards who dropped from second to third. Craig Lowndes jumped ahead of the Holden Racing Team duo of Mark Skaife and Todd Kelly who both had poor days.

The start saw Ingall lead ahead of Richards, with Ambrose making a good start to challenge Richards, eventually taking second early in the lap with Murphy and Rick Kelly next. However the safety car was about to make an appearance after Mark's Skaife bad day got worse when he was sent flying into the gravel after contact.

The race restarted on lap five, with most of the front runners pitting for tyres soon after, apart from Ingall. With clear road, and pace on his side, Ambrose put in a series of quick laps in an attempt to take the lead from his teammate Ingall when he pitted.

When Ingall pitted he came out a few seconds behind Ambrose, but he was closing down the margin when the safety car came out on lap 27 when Jason Richards got stuck in the gravel.

Racing resumed on lap 30, with Ambrose leading Ingall, Murphy, Lowndes and Richards. Ingall was now all over his teammate and race leader Ambrose, and after a few tentative moves, took the lead on lap 36.

From there Ingall drove away to the chequered flag, Ambrose holding a comfortable second as Murphy took third just ahead of Lowndes. However, Richards struggled in the second half of the race, falling from fifth at the restart to end the race in eleventh, as Tander recovered from damage in race one to finish fifth in race two.

Result of Race Two, Oran Park Raceway:

Pos  Driver              Car
 1.  Russell Ingall      Ford Falcon BA
 2.  Marcos Ambrose      Ford Falcon BA
 3.  Greg Murphy         Holden Commodore VZ
 4.  Craig Lowndes       Ford Falcon BA
 5.  Garth Tander        Holden Commodore VZ
 6.  Rick Kelly          Holden Commodore VZ
 7.  Jason Bright        Ford Falcon BA
 8.  Cameron McConville  Holden Commodore VZ
 9.  Paul Radisich       Holden Commodore VZ
10.  Max Wilson          Holden Commodore VZ
11.  Steven Richards     Holden Commodore VY
12.  Jason Bargwanna     Ford Falcon BA
13.  Glenn Seton         Ford Falcon BA
14.  Paul Weel           Holden Commodore VZ
15.  Jamie Whincup       Holden Commodore VZ
16.  David Besnard       Ford Falcon BA
17.  Simon Wills         Holden Commodore VZ
18.  Paul Morris         Holden Commodore VZ
19.  John Bowe           Ford Falcon BA
20.  Brad Jones          Ford Falcon BA
21.  Anthony Tratt       Holden Commodore VY
22.  Todd Kelly          Holden Commodore VZ
23.  Alex Davison        Holden Commodore VZ
24.  Paul Dumbrell       Holden Commodore VY
25.  Andrew Jones        Holden Commodore VZ
26.  Steve Owen          Ford Falcon BA
27.  Mark Winterbottom   Ford Falcon BA
28.  Jason Richards      Holden Commodore VZ
29.  Greg Ritter         Ford Falcon BA
30.  Mark Skaife         Holden Commodore VZ
31.  Steven Johnson      Ford Falcon BA
DNF  Matthew White       Ford Falcon BA
DNF  Craig Baird         Ford Falcon BA
Richards Wins Race 1
Previous article

Richards Wins Race 1

Next article

Todd Kelly Re-Signs for HRT

Todd Kelly Re-Signs for HRT
When Nissan ruled Australia with its 'Godzilla' Group A special Plus

When Nissan ruled Australia with its 'Godzilla' Group A special

The Nissan Skyline R32 GT-R was the fastest Group A touring car ever. It cleaned up at the Bathurst 1000 and in the Australian Touring Car Championship, and is fondly remembered by the drivers who monstered it to success on the world-famous Mount Panorama

Feb 8, 2022
Ranking the top 10 Supercars drivers of 2021 Plus

Ranking the top 10 Supercars drivers of 2021

It may have been a one-man title fight in Supercars this season, but behind dominant champion Shane van Gisbergen were some fascinating performances. Autosport picks out the best drivers of the 2021 campaign.

Dec 10, 2021
The well-travelled racer now Supercars' elder statesman Plus

The well-travelled racer now Supercars' elder statesman

James Courtney has been around the block in his motorsport career it's fair to say. After a single-seater career cut short, he's won everything there is to win in Supercars. Following a rocky ride recently in the Australian category, he's found a happy hunting ground with Tickford Racing, as Andrew van Leeuwen explains

Oct 19, 2021
How taming his temper shaped Supercars' slow-burn star Plus

How taming his temper shaped Supercars' slow-burn star

His decision to leave Brad Jones Racing was the biggest shock of the Australian Supercars silly season so far. But for Nick Percat, it comes as the culmination of a personal journey that has made him into one of the most rounded drivers in the series, now in search of a seat that can make him a champion

Sep 16, 2021
Why replacing Supercars' GOAT with a teenager is worth the risk for T8 Plus

Why replacing Supercars' GOAT with a teenager is worth the risk for T8

On the face of it, picking an 18-year-old rookie to replace arguably the greatest Supercars driver of all time is a risky move. But as Jamie Whincup takes up a team principal role and hands his car to Broc Feeney, it's one that he is confident will be rewarded in the fullness of time - time which wasn't afforded to Whincup in his early days

Aug 31, 2021
Can DJR still be a Supercars powerhouse after Penske? Plus

Can DJR still be a Supercars powerhouse after Penske?

OPINION: Roger Penske's operation helped lift Dick Johnson's faltering Ford team back to the top of Australian tin-tops. But, despite The Captain's departure, along with star driver Scott McLaughlin, there's no reason to expect an imminent decline from DJR

Feb 26, 2021
Why Whincup's next move is no calculated gamble Plus

Why Whincup's next move is no calculated gamble

Supercars' most successful team of the past 15 years is set for a radical shakeup next year when Jamie Whincup retires from driving and takes over the reins at Triple Eight. But the team's outgoing boss Roland Dane has full faith that he'll be up to the task

Feb 5, 2021
The top 10 Supercars drivers of 2020 Plus

The top 10 Supercars drivers of 2020

In a year of few constants, the Australian Supercars championship could be relied upon for its usual blend of rough and tumble racing with a V8 soundtrack. But who were its top performers in 2020?

Dec 27, 2020