NASCAR All-Star: Jamie McMurray dominates Showdown

Jamie McMurray and Ricky Stenhouse Jr secured spots in the NASCAR All-Star race with first and second places in the Showdown qualifying heat

McMurray dominated most of the 40-lap event.

Choosing to change just two tyres in the optional pitstops during the half-distance pause put him at the front of the queue to pass those who had eschewed new tyres and he swiftly returned to the front.

Others took longer to get around Casey Mears, the best of those who had not pitted, and by the time Stenhouse's Roush Fenway Ford was up to second, McMurray's Earnhardt Ganassi Chevrolet was over a second clear, a margin it maintained.

Martin Truex Jr had been McMurray's main rival in the first segment, but two brushes with the wall slowed his pace and he fell to fifth behind Childress duo Jeff Burton and Paul Menard.

Juan Pablo Montoya was caught speeding the pits and demoted to last for the start of the second segment. He could only recover to sixth.

Danica Patrick won the fan vote to decide the final driver to make it through to the All-Star. She finished ninth in the Showdown.

Results - 40 laps:

Pos  Driver              Team/Car                       Time/Gap
 1.  Jamie McMurray      Earnhardt Ganassi Chevrolet  26m03.000s
 2.  Ricky Stenhouse Jr  Roush Fenway Ford              + 1.226s
 3.  Jeff Burton         Childress Chevrolet            + 4.429s
 4.  Paul Menard         Childress Chevrolet            + 5.429s
 5.  Martin Truex Jr     Waltrip Toyota                 + 6.996s
 6.  Juan Pablo Montoya  Earnhardt Ganassi Chevrolet    + 7.405s
 7.  Aric Almirola       Petty Ford                     + 7.857s
 8.  Travis Kvapil       BK Toyota                     + 12.871s
 9.  Danica Patrick      Stewart-Haas Chevrolet        + 13.276s
10.  Casey Mears         Germain Ford                  + 16.598s
11.  David Reutimann     BK Toyota                     + 16.867s
12.  Bobby Labonte       JTG Daugherty Toyota          + 18.133s
13.  David Gilliland     Front Row Ford                + 20.216s
14.  Michael McDowell    Leavine Ford                  + 20.498s
15.  David Stremme       Swan Toyota                   + 20.924s
16.  Landon Cassill      Circle Sport Chevrolet        + 22.425s
17.  Mike Bliss          Humphrey Smith Toyota         + 22.667s
18.  Joe Nemechek        NEMCO Toyota                  + 26.757s
19.  Brian Keselowski    Keselowski Toyota              + 4 laps


     JJ Yeley            Baldwin Chevrolet               27 laps
     Dave Blaney         Baldwin Chevrolet               24 laps
     Scott Riggs         Xxxtreme Ford                   15 laps
     Timmy Hill          FAS Lane Ford                    6 laps
Previous article NASCAR All-Star: Carl Edwards and Roush Fenway earn pole
Next article NASCAR All-Star: Jimmie Johnson claims fourth win