Harvick Doubles Up in Bristol

Kevin Harvick held off a fierce challenge in a last lap restart from Childress teammate Jeff Burton to claim the double in Bristol by winning the rain delayed Sharpie Professional 250

the RCR pair had a last lap do or die effort in a race which ran six laps longer than planned due to the yellow flag periods - the race was interrupted by thirteen caution flags and three red flags.

As usual the Bristol Motor Speedway provided close running and more than the usual carnage - fifteen drivers failed to make the chequered flag at the half mile circuit, and the race ran for more than an hour under caution.

Harvick led for 76 laps, many of them at the end of the race, although Burton had at least an equal claim to the win by leading for 93 laps. The gap between the drivers after 256 laps was a mere 0.175 seconds.

Burton will at least take comfort in crossing the finish line - his tangle with Kurt Busch yesterday put both drivers out on the spot with over a hundred laps to go, and both drivers looked dazed as they returned to the pitlane.

Harvick's win moves him up to fourth in the Busch standings behind Clint Bowyer, while Reed Sorenson's third place moves him just behind overall points leader Carl Edwards.

Sharpie Professional 250 Busch Series Results, Bristol Motor Speedway:
Pos Driver              Make       Laps
1. Kevin Harvick Chevrolet 256 2. Jeff Burton Chevrolet 256 3. Reed Sorenson Dodge 256 4. Matt Kenseth Ford 256 5. Sterling Marlin Dodge 256 6. Jeremy Mayfield Dodge 256 7. Carl Edwards Ford 256 8. Ashton Lewis Ford 256 9. Denny Hamlin Chevrolet 256 10. Greg Biffle Ford 256 11. Jon Wood Ford 256 12. Shane Hmiel Chevrolet 256 13. Clint Bowyer Chevrolet 256 14. Kenny Wallace Ford 256 15. David Green Ford 256 16. Stacy Compton Ford 256 17. Tony Raines Chevrolet 256 18. Johnny Sauter Dodge 256 19. Jason Keller Ford 256 20. Jeff Green Dodge 256 21. J.J. Yeley Chevrolet 256 22. Paul Menard Chevrolet 256 23. Mark Green Chevrolet 256 24. Steve Grissom Ford 253 25. Tim Fedewa Dodge 251 26. Kertus Davis Chevrolet 251 27. Randy LaJoie Chevrolet 250 28. Blake Feese Chevrolet 249 29. Geoffrey Bodine Chevrolet 249 30. Dale Jarrett Ford 247 31. Martin Truex Jr Chevrolet 241 32. Michel Jourdain Jr Ford 234 33. Ryan Hemphill Dodge 226 34. Mike Wallace Dodge 217 35. Tyler Walker Dodge 211 36. Brent Sherman Dodge 204 37. Stanton Barrett Chevrolet 195 38. David Stremme Dodge 182 39. Shawna Robinson Chevrolet 175 40. Justin Labonte Chevrolet 161 41. Joe Nemechek Chevrolet 153 42. Michael Waltrip Chevrolet 113 43. Derrike Cope Ford 84
Previous article Harvick Races Back to Front
Next article Riggs Grabs First Pole at Martinsville