Jerez Moto3: Alex Rins takes another pole despite crash

Alex Rins recovered from an early-session crash to secure his second straight Moto3 pole position ahead of Sunday's Spanish Grand Prix

Jerez Moto3: Alex Rins takes another pole despite crash

The Spaniard, victorious last time out at Austin, had just set the then-fastest time of the weekend before crashing on the exit of Turn 1 - just moments after his Monlau KTM team-mate Alex Marquez went down at Turn 5.

But the chasing pack could not overhaul Rins as he recovered to the pits, and on his return to the track he went faster still.

His best effort, a 1m46.660s, left him just under half a second ahead of Maverick Vinales aboard the Laglisse KTM.

Luis Salom completed an all-Spanish front row while Brad Binder was a late improver, hauling his Ambrogio Suter up to fourth.

He will be joined on the second row by Jack Miller and Niccolo Antonelli.

Pos Rider Team/Bike Time Gap 1. Alex Rins Monlau KTM 1m46.660s 2. Maverick Vinales Laglisse KTM 1m47.145s + 0.485s 3. Luis Salom Ajo KTM 1m47.327s + 0.667s 4. Brad Binder Ambrogio Suter-Honda 1m47.517s + 0.857s 5. Jack Miller Caretta-RTG FTR-Honda 1m47.613s + 0.953s 6. Niccolo Antonelli Gresini FTR-Honda 1m47.742s + 1.082s 7. Jonas Folger Aspar Kalex-KTM 1m47.793s + 1.133s 8. Niklas Ajo Tecno KTM 1m47.868s + 1.208s 9. Jakub Kornfeil RW Kalex-KTM 1m48.009s + 1.349s 10. Efren Vazquez Mahindra 1m48.147s + 1.487s 11. Zulfahmi Khairuddin Ajo KTM 1m48.262s + 1.602s 12. Danny Webb Ambrogio Suter-Honda 1m48.359s + 1.699s 13. Alexis Masbou Ongetta FTR-Honda 1m48.413s + 1.753s 14. Arthur Sissis Ajo KTM 1m48.481s + 1.821s 15. Miguel Oliveira Mahindra 1m48.498s + 1.838s 16. Isaac Vinales Ongetta FTR-Honda 1m48.502s + 1.842s 17. John Mcphee Caretta-RTG FTR-Honda 1m48.559s + 1.899s 18. Romano Fenati Italia FTR-Honda 1m48.618s + 1.958s 19. Jasper Iwema RW Kalex-KTM 1m48.715s + 2.055s 20. Eric Granado Aspar Kalex-KTM 1m48.731s + 2.071s 21. Livio Loi Marc VDS Kalex-KTM 1m48.742s + 2.082s 22. Alex Marquez Monlau KTM 1m48.994s + 2.334s 23. Francesco Bagnaia Italia FTR-Honda 1m49.072s + 2.412s 24. Ana Carrasco Laglisse KTM 1m49.092s + 2.432s 25. Jorge Navarro MIR 1m49.201s + 2.541s 26. Florian Alt Kiefer Kalex-KTM 1m49.266s + 2.606s 27. Alessandro Tonucci Tasca Honda 1m49.432s + 2.772s 28. Toni Finsterbusch Kiefer Kalex-KTM 1m49.435s + 2.775s 29. Juanfran Guevara CIP TSR-Honda 1m49.561s + 2.901s 30. Philipp Oettl Paddock Kalex-KTM 1m49.664s + 3.004s 31. Alan Techer CIP TSR-Honda 1m49.743s + 3.083s 32. Matteo Ferrari Ongetta FTR-Honda 1m49.761s + 3.101s 33. Hyuga Watanabe Tasca Honda 1m50.086s + 3.426s 34. Lorenzo Baldassarri Gresini FTR-Honda 1m50.293s + 3.633s 35. Kevin Hanus Sabo Honda 1m52.703s + 6.043s 
Austin Moto3: Alex Rins wins as Jasper Iwema crash interrupts race

Previous article

Austin Moto3: Alex Rins wins as Jasper Iwema crash interrupts race

Next article

Jerez Moto3: Vinales wins shortened Moto3 race

Jerez Moto3: Vinales wins shortened Moto3 race
Load comments

About this article

Series Moto3
Author Scott Mitchell