125cc: Terol wins eventful wet Jerez race

Nico Terol continued his domination of the 125cc championship with a second straight win in damp conditions at Jerez

125cc: Terol wins eventful wet Jerez race

The Spaniard spent much of the race battling with his Aspar team-mate Hector Faubel, but with the 2007 series runner-up crashing on the final lap, Terol was able to cruise home with a comfortable margin over wet-weather stars Jonas Folger and Johann Zarco.

Terol had taken the lead at the start from second on the grid and pulled away while Faubel was embroiled in a battle for second with Efren Vazquez and impressive Portuguese rookie Miguel Oliveira.

Faubel escaped from this pack by lap three and soon closed down Terol's early three-second lead, before slicing ahead at the end of the back straight on lap seven.

He could not escape, though, and they would swap places twice more before Terol started edging clear as the rain returned in the closing stages. Still pushing to give chase, Faubel fell going into the Sito Pons corner on the last lap and was down to 11th by the time he dragged his battered bike to the line.

Rookie Oliveira's podium bid ended with a violent crash - from which he walked away unhurt - at the final corner on lap six.

Third place was then disputed, in spectacular style, by poleman Sandro Cortese, Vazquez, Folger, Zarco and Maverick Vinales. The latter dropped back with a seemingly damaged bike after a brush with one of his rivals, and Vazquez and Cortese would both eventually crash out.

Folger then pulled away from Zarco to secure what would become second, as he equalled his career-best result nearly two years after his maiden podium at Le Mans, and Zarco claimed his first ever 125cc rostrum visit.

Young British riders Danny Kent and Taylor Mackenzie rode superbly in the conditions to come through to fourth and fifth ahead of the recovering Cortese.

Jakub Kornfeil got up to seventh, Hiroki Ono was eighth in only his second 125cc grand prix, with Vazquez getting back on for ninth and Zulfahmi Khairuddin clinching a top-10 finish for the first time in 10th.

Pos Rider Team/Bike Time/Gap 1. Nicolas Terol Aspar Aprilia 44m50.646s 2. Jonas Folger Ajo Aprilia + 17.446s 3. Johann Zarco Ajo Derbi + 23.955s 4. Danny Kent Ajo Aprilia + 32.883s 5. Taylor Mackenzie Phonica Aprilia + 34.713s 6. Sandro Cortese Germany Aprilia + 51.515s 7. Jakub Kornfeil Ongetta Aprilia + 54.920s 8. Hiroki Ono Forward KTM + 1m00.164s 9. Efren Vazquez Ajo Derbi + 1m00.286s 10. Zulfahmi Khairuddin Ajo Derbi + 1m00.399s 11. Hector Faubel Aspar Aprilia + 1m00.760s 12. Adrian Martin Aspar Aprilia + 1m07.739s 13. Marcel Schrotter Mahindra + 1m19.710s 14. Louis Rossi Matteoni Aprilia + 1m21.812s 15. Josep Rodriguez Wild Wolf Aprilia + 1m23.118s 16. Alberto Moncayo Andalucia Aprilia + 1m24.040s 17. Simone Grotzkyj Phonica Aprilia + 1m30.610s 18. Harry Stafford Ongetta Aprilia + 1m30.952s 19. Alessandro Tonucci Italia Aprilia + 1m55.354s 20. Luigi Morciano Italia Aprilia + 1 lap 21. Daniel Ruiz Larresport Honda + 1 lap 22. Daniel Kartheininger Forward KTM + 1 lap 23. Joan Perello Matteoni Aprilia + 1 lap 24. Kevin Hanus Hanusch Honda + 2 laps Retirements: Maverick Vinales Blusens Aprilia 15 laps Sergio Gadea Blusens Aprilia 15 laps Jasper Iwema Ongetta Aprilia 15 laps Francesco Mauriello WTR-Ten10 Aprilia 13 laps Danny Webb Mahindra 10 laps Luis Salom RW Aprilia 9 laps Giulian Pedone Phonica Aprilia 8 laps Miguel Oliveira Andalucia Aprilia 5 laps Niklas Ajo TT Motion Aprilia 2 laps 
125cc: Cortese denies Terol 125cc pole
Previous article

125cc: Cortese denies Terol 125cc pole

Next article

125cc: Terol dominates 125cc qualifying

125cc: Terol dominates 125cc qualifying
Load comments