125cc: Simon leads the Spanish armada

Julian Simon utterly dominated the 125cc German Grand Prix ahead of an incredible result for Spain, with the top five riders all from the southern European country

125cc: Simon leads the Spanish armada

Simon, who started the Sachsenring race from pole and was already four seconds ahead of the rest of the field within seven laps, ended up almost ten seconds in front of Sergio Gadea, whose result made it a 1-2 for the Aspar Aprilia team.

Derbi's Joan Olive took a distant third after aggressively defending the last podium place from KTM's Marc Marquez. The pair came together at a turn exit on the last lap when Olive swiftly changed direction to block Marquez from overtaking.

The latter's bike must have suffered some sort of damage because at the following turn it wobbled strangely before sending Marquez into a major high-side and preventing an even better result for Spain.

Nicolas Terol (Jack & Jones Aprilia) thus took fourth, just a whisker behind Olive, with Derbi's Pol Espargaro fifth after having overtaken Italian Andrea Iannone (Ongetta Aprilia) on the penultimate lap.

Ajo Derbi's Sandro Cortese ended up sixth after he, too, overtook Iannone on the last lap. Danny Webb (Degraaf Aprilia) classified eight, with Dominique Aegerter (Ajo Derbi) and Tomoyoshi Koyama (Loncin) completing the top ten.

Aspar Aprilia's Bradley Smith, second on the grid, went off on the first lap and rejoined at the back of the pack, before retiring on lap four after a crash with the Ajo Derbi of Eeki Kuparinen

The start saw the immediate crash at the first turn of Derbi's Efren Vazquez and Honda's Jasper Iwema.

Simone Corsi also crashed his Fontana Aprilia on lap 15 while trying to pass Olive for fourth place, while Jonas Folger crashed his Ongetta Aprilia a lap later.

CLASSIFIED: Pos Rider Bike Time 1. Julian Simon Aprilia 39m57.337s 2. Sergio Gadea Aprilia + 9.415s 3. Joan Olive Derbi + 17.559s 4. Nicolas Terol  Aprilia + 17.587s 5. Pol Espargaro Derbi + 19.740s 6. Sandro Cortese Derbi + 20.778s 7. Andrea Iannone Aprilia + 20.908s 8. Daniel Webb Aprilia + 38.221s 9. D.Agerter Derbi + 38.434s 10. Tomoyoshi Koyama Loncin + 40.085s 11. R.Krummenacher Aprilia + 44.127s 12. Marcel Schrotter Honda + 45.051s 13. Luis Salom Aprilia + 59.604s 14. Cameron Beaubier KTM +1m18.157s 15. D.Kartheininger Honda +1m20.825s 16. Marc Marquez KTM +1m25.137s 17. Efren Vazquez Derbi +1m30.427s 18. Lukas Sembera Aprilia +1m30.528s 19. Jasper Iwema Honda + 1 lap 20. Lorenzo Savadori Aprilia + 1 lap 21. T.Finsterbusch Honda + 1 lap 22. Damien Raemy Honda + 1 lap 23. Johann Zarco Aprilia + 1 lap 24. Luca Marconi Aprilia + 1 lap NOT CLASSIFIED/RETIREMENTS: Rider Bike Laps Scott Redding Aprilia 19 Stefan Bradl Aprilia 18 Takaaki Nakagami Aprilia 17 Simone Corsi Aprilia 16 Jonas Folger Aprilia 15 Michael Ranseder Aprilia 8 Lorenzo Zanetti Aprilia 6 Eeki Kuparinen Honda 3 Bradley Smith Aprilia 3 Esteve Rabat Aprilia 1 Alexis Masbou Loncin 1 FASTEST LAP: Gadea, 1m28.337s on lap 6 
125cc: Simon dominates wet qualifying

Previous article

125cc: Simon dominates wet qualifying

Next article

125cc: Smith hopes for home turnaround

125cc: Smith hopes for home turnaround
Load comments