125cc: Simon dominates wet qualifying

Julian Simon dominated proceedings at at rainy Sachsenring by qualifying on pole position for tomorrow's 125cc German Grand Prix

125cc: Simon dominates wet qualifying

The Aspar Aprilia rider steadily kept raising the bar to end up with a tremendous lap 1m38.671s in the dying seconds of the 40-minute session, a full second quicker than anyone else's.

Best of the rest was Bradley Smith, whose fastest lap was 1.015s slower than his Spanish teammate's. KTM's Marc Marquez will join the Briton on the front row, along with Toni Mang Honda's Marcel Schrotter.

Nicolas Terol will lead the second row with his Jack & Jones Aprilia, despite crashing with four minutes of the session remaining.

That same spot also saw Jonas Folger crashing earlier in the session, when the Ongetta Aprilia rider was in fourth. The German was unable to rejoin and dropped down to 21st.

Alexis Masbou was sixth quickest with his Loncin, ahead of Folger's teammate Takaaki Nakagami and Derbi's Efren Vazquez.

Fontana Aprilia's Simone Corsi and CBC Aprilia's Michael Ranseder complete the top ten.

Daniel Webb also had a high-speed crash with just one minute of the session left. The Briton, who ultimately qualified 17th, looked shaken but fine, unlike his badly damaged Degraaf Aprilia.

Pos Rider Bike Time 1. Julian Simon Aprilia 1m38.671s 2. Bradley Smith Aprilia 1m39.686s + 1.015s 3. Marc Marquez KTM 1m40.010s + 1.339s 4. Marcel Schrotter Honda 1m40.486s + 1.815s 5. Nicolas Terol Aprilia 1m40.492s + 1.821s 6. Alexis Masbou Loncin 1m40.664s + 1.993s 7. Takaaki Nakagami Aprilia 1m40.828s + 2.157s 8. Efren Vazquez Derbi 1m40.966s + 2.295s 9. Simone Corsi Aprilia 1m41.129s + 2.458s 10. Michael Ranseder Aprilia 1m41.341s + 2.670s 11. Jasper Iwema Honda 1m41.401s + 2.730s 12. Joan Olive Derbi 1m41.478s + 2.807s 13. Tomoyoshi Koyama Loncin 1m41.552s + 2.881s 14. Sergio Gadea Aprilia 1m41.565s + 2.894s 15. Sandro Cortese Derbi 1m41.571s + 2.900s 16. Stefan Bradl Aprilia 1m41.694s + 3.023s 17. Daniel Webb Aprilia 1m41.714s + 3.043s 18. Lorenzo Zanetti Aprilia 1m42.157s + 3.486s 19. Pol Espargaro Derbi 1m42.174s + 3.503s 20. Lukas Sembera Aprilia 1m42.532s + 3.861s 21. Jonas Folger Aprilia 1m42.597s + 3.926s 22. Andrea Iannone Aprilia 1m42.767s + 4.096s 23. D.Agerter Derbi 1m43.151s + 4.480s 24. Scott Redding Aprilia 1m43.192s + 4.521s 25. Lorenzo Savadori Aprilia 1m43.523s + 4.852s 26. D.Kartheininger Honda 1m43.742s + 5.071s 27. Esteve Rabat Aprilia 1m43.768s + 5.097s 28. Cameron Beaubier KTM 1m43.886s + 5.215s 29. T.Finsterbusch Honda 1m44.019s + 5.348s 30. Luis Salom Aprilia 1m44.716s + 6.045s 31. Eeki Kuparinen Honda 1m45.155s + 6.484s 32. Luca Marconi Aprilia 1m45.358s + 6.687s 33. R.Krummenacher Aprilia 1m46.959s + 8.288s 34. Johann Zarco Aprilia 1m47.094s + 8.423s 35. Damien Raemy Honda 1m47.612s + 8.941s 
125cc: Gadea wins 125cc thriller at Assen

Previous article

125cc: Gadea wins 125cc thriller at Assen

Next article

125cc: Simon leads the Spanish armada

125cc: Simon leads the Spanish armada
Load comments