125cc: Marquez leads Spanish domination

Marc Marquez overcame compatriot Pol Espargaro to take 125cc pole at Jerez - as Spaniards filled the first five places on the grid for their home race

125cc: Marquez leads Spanish domination

Espargaro had held a half-second cushion over the rest of the field going into the closing stages, but Marques was able to dig deep and depose him with a 1m46.829s lap on the Red Bull Ajo Derbi.

Although Espargaro improved further, he could not get back on terms with Marquez, finishing up 0.104s adrift.

Efren Vazquez and Esteve Rabat complete the front row, with Nico Terol in fifth.

First non-Spaniard was Germany's Sandro Cortese, who took sixth ahead of British duo Bradley Smith and Danny Webb.

Pos Rider Bike Time Gap 1. Marc Marquez Derbi 1m46.829s 2. Pol Espargaro Derbi 1m46.933s + 0.104s 3. Efren Vazquez Derbi 1m47.275s + 0.446s 4. Esteve Rabat Aprilia 1m47.379s + 0.550s 5. Nico Terol Aprilia 1m47.443s + 0.614s 6. Sandro Cortese Derbi 1m47.645s + 0.816s 7. Bradley Smith Aprilia 1m47.753s + 0.924s 8. Danny Webb Aprilia 1m48.164s + 1.335s 9. Alberto Moncayo Aprilia 1m48.700s + 1.871s 10. Randy Krummenacher Aprilia 1m48.727s + 1.898s 11. Tomoyoshi Koyama Aprilia 1m48.880s + 2.051s 12. Johann Zarco Aprilia 1m48.982s + 2.153s 13. Jasper Iwema Aprilia 1m49.030s + 2.201s 14. Isaac Vinales Aprilia 1m49.604s + 2.775s 15. Adrián Martín Aprilia 1m49.752s + 2.923s 16. Louis Rossi Aprilia 1m49.817s + 2.988s 17. Alexis Masbou Aprilia 1m49.826s + 2.997s 18. Marcel Schrotter Honda 1m49.911s + 3.082s 19. Jonas Folger Aprilia 1m49.925s + 3.096s 20. Jakub Kornfeil Aprilia 1m49.947s + 3.118s 21. Luca Marconi Aprilia 1m50.077s + 3.248s 22. Lorenzo Savadori Aprilia 1m50.474s + 3.645s 23. Sturla Fagerhaug Aprilia 1m50.614s + 3.785s 24. Joan Perello Honda 1m50.724s + 3.895s 25. Luis Salom Lambretta 1m50.755s + 3.926s 26. Johnny Rosell Honda 1m50.771s + 3.942s 27. Riccardo Moretti Aprilia 1m51.184s + 4.355s 28. Quentin Jacquet Aprilia 1m51.797s + 4.968s 29. Michael van der Mark Aprilia 1m51.945s + 5.116s 30. Marco Ravaioli Lambretta 1m52.798s + 5.969s 31. Muhammad Zulfahmi Aprilia 1m53.546s + 6.717s 
125cc: Terol opens season with 125cc win

Previous article

125cc: Terol opens season with 125cc win

Next article

125cc: Espargaro beats Terol to 125cc win

125cc: Espargaro beats Terol to 125cc win
Load comments

About this article

Series Moto3
Author Matt Beer