125cc: Iannone wins truncated Qatar race

The opening 125cc race of the 2009 season was red flagged after a downpour hit the Losail track in the Qatar desert, with Andrea Iannone winning the shortened race

125cc: Iannone wins truncated Qatar race

The grand prix, scheduled to run for 18 laps, saw the first spots of rain hitting the floodlit circuit on the third lap, with the red flag shown just two laps later, after the riders had completed only four laps.

But thanks to article 1.23.3 of the sporting regulations, which states that half points can be awarded if it is impossible to restart the race and if more than three laps have been completed, the organisers were able to consider the race finished.

After four laps Aprilia Ongetta rider Iannone was leading Aspar Aprilia's Julian Simon by less than two tenths thanks to a fine start by the Italian from third on the grid, and a bad start by the Spaniard.

Simon dropped to sixth at the first corner after starting from pole, but in the end can consider himself lucky to finish second because he crashed right after taking the red flag.

Ajo Derbi's Sandro Cortese took the third, his maiden podium, despite being already over five seconds behind the leaders, also thanks to a massive high-side by KTM's Marc Marquez while running third on the fourth and last lap. Pol Espargaro's works Derbi followed in fourth.

Simon's team-mate Bradley Smith was also left disappointed by finishing fifth after starting from second on the grid, while Aprilia Ongetta's 15-year-old rider Jonas Folger ended up sixth, his career-best result, after starting 10th.

Nicolas Terol (Jack & Jones Aprilia), Stefan Bradl (Kiefer Aprilia), Danny Webb (Degraaf Aprilia) and Esteve Rabat (Blusens Aprilia) completed the top ten.

Pos Rider Bike Time 1. Andrea Iannone Aprilia 8m37.245s 2. Julian Simon Aprilia + 0.180s 3. Sandro Cortese Derbi + 5.211s 4. Pol Espargaro Derbi + 5.769s 5. Bradley Smith Aprilia + 6.650s 6. Jonas Folger Aprilia + 6.701s 7. Nicolas Terol Aprilia + 6.771s 8. Stefan Bradl Aprilia + 7.592s 9. Daniel Webb Aprilia + 8.169s 10. Esteve Rabat Aprilia + 8.678s 11. Dominique Aegerter Derbi + 12.232s 12. Sergio Gadea Aprilia + 12.237s 13. Scott Redding Aprilia + 12.360s 14. Simone Corsi Aprilia + 13.754s 15. Johann Zarco Aprilia + 13.783s 16. Cameron Beaubier KTM + 13.893s 17. Efren Vazquez Derbi + 14.170s 18. Joan Olive Derbi + 14.452s 19. Lorenzo Zanetti Aprilia + 15.310s 20. Takaaki Nakagami Aprilia + 16.415s 21. Lorenzo Savadori Aprilia + 18.602s 22. Randy Krummenacher Aprilia + 19.355s 23. Jasper Iwema Honda + 28.034s 24. Luca Marconi Aprilia + 28.114s 25. Lukas Sembera Aprilia + 28.199s 26. Alexis Masbou Loncin + 28.272s 27. Tomoyoshi Koyama Loncin + 28.544s 28. Luca Vitali Aprilia + 53.927s Retirements: Rider Bike Laps Marc Marquez KTM 3 Michael Ranseder Haojue 3 Matthew Hoyle Haojue 0 
125cc: Simon beats Smith to Qatar pole
Previous article

125cc: Simon beats Smith to Qatar pole

Next article

125cc: Rain gives Iannone 125 pole

125cc: Rain gives Iannone 125 pole
Load comments