125cc: Iannone charges back to 125cc win

Ongetta Aprilia rider Andrea Iannone won the Japanese round of the 125cc world championship at Motegi after charging through the field in drying conditions

125cc: Iannone charges back to 125cc win

Iannone started the race on pole but his decision to use slick tyres meant that by the end of lap one he was down to twelfth on a track that was just starting to show a dry line.

But as the race went on conditions improved, and Iannone charged through the field from half-distance onwards to take the lead with three laps remaining and go on to take victory.

Julian Simon finished second on his Aspar Aprilia after making a similar move through the field, though his charge began a little earlier as he was on intermediates, moving up to second on lap 10 and the lead on lap 13 before Iannone took it away with three laps remaining.

A few seconds further back were Pol Espargaro and Stefan Bradl who also made their way through the field on intermediates and slicks respectively. At one point Bradl looked like he would be the victor but his charge faded in the closing laps and he was unable to make the podium.

Sandro Cortese, Joan Olive, Jonas Folger, Dominic Aegerter and Bradley Smith completed the top ten finishers, Smith recovering from a highside in the closing laps that broke his windscreen after his helmet slammed into it.

One place behind Smith was another Briton, Danny Webb. For the first nine laps of the race, he looked like taking the win, as he extended his gap out lap by lap to over nine seconds over second after nine laps.

But as the track dried his wet tyres crumbled, and four laps later he was out of the lead as he began his slide down the order, finishing the race nearly 40 seconds behind the winner.

Pos Rider Bike Time 1. Andrea Iannone Aprilia 42:23.716 2. Julian Simon Aprilia + 1.346 3. Pol Espargaro Derbi + 5.039 4. Stefan Bradl Aprilia + 6.904 5. Marc Marquez KTM + 13.061 6. Sandro Cortese Derbi + 14.841 7. Joan Olive Derbi + 16.420 8. Jonas Folger Aprilia + 16.483 9. Dominique Aegerter Derbi + 27.500 10. Bradley Smith Aprilia + 30.359 11. Danny Webb Aprilia + 37.547 12. Tomoyoshi Koyama Loncin + 43.856 13. Esteve Rabat Aprilia + 59.889 14. Lorenzo Zanetti Aprilia +1:00.141 15. Simone Corsi Aprilia +1:02.601 16. Cameron Beaubier KTM +1:02.609 17. Nicolas Terol Aprilia +1:09.867 18. Randy Krummenacher Aprilia +1:09.883 19. Sergio Gadea Aprilia +1:15.049 20. Takaaki Nakagami Aprilia +1:19.858 21. Alexis Masbou Loncin +1:43.413 22. Efren Vazquez Derbi +1:52.910 23. Lukas Sembera Aprilia +2:07.124 24. Yuuichi Yanagisawa Honda +2:07.402 25. Luca Marconi Aprilia + 1 lap 26. Luca Vitali Aprilia + 1 lap 27. Hiroomi Iwata Honda + 1 lap 28. Satoru Kamada Honda + 1 lap 29. Yuki Oogane Honda + 2 laps Retirements: Rider Bike Laps  Yuma Yahagi Honda 11 Johann Zarco Aprilia 10 Scott Redding Aprilia 6 Lorenzo Savadori Aprilia 2 Jasper Iwema Honda 0 
125cc: Rain gives Iannone 125 pole

Previous article

125cc: Rain gives Iannone 125 pole

Next article

125cc: Simon takes home 125cc pole

125cc: Simon takes home 125cc pole
Load comments