Moto2: Tomizawa takes historic debut win

Shoya Tomizawa became the first man to win a Moto2 grand prix as the Technomag Suter rider took an unexpectedly comfortable maiden victory in the inaugural race at Qatar

Moto2: Tomizawa takes historic debut win

The 19-year-old Japanese kept his cool and maintained a hard-earned eventual 4s cushion as several more experienced stars battled it out for second position behind him.

The new Honda-powered, 16,000rpm limited category proved to be a great catalyst for slipstreaming and racing and early on the battle for the lead was one that included seven riders with racecraft more akin to a 125 race on display.

Spaniard Alex Debon eventually took second place with a brave manoeuvre down the inside of Frenchman Jules Cluzel, on another Suter, during the final lap, after a race-long battle between the two.

Debon, who thus gave debutant manufacturer FTR a podium at its first attempt, might even have won the race had he, Cluzel and fourth place finisher (and poleman) Toni Elias not got wrapped up in their own fight and lost touch with Tomizawa in the process.

Fifth position went to grand prix returnee Roberto Rolfo, who closed up to Elias in the late stages as the former MotoGP winner faded - the pre-season testing injuries taking their toll.

Mattia Pasini took sixth for JIR ahead of Thomas Luthi, Simone Corsi and another former MotoGP rider Gabor Talmacsi. Sergio Gadea was tenth.

Yuki Takahashi may have featured high in the order but the Japanese fell after passing Elias for what was then second place.

Meanwhile, front-row starters Alex de Angelis and Stefan Bradl failed to make it through lap one, as the San Marino rider went in to Turn 2 too deep, wobbled and was clipped by the unfortunate German.

125cc world champion Julian Simon was another early retirement with a technical problem on the Aspar bike, while Anthony West struggled and crashed out mid-race on the MZ.

Pos Rider Bike Time/Gap 1. Shoya Tomizawa Suter 41m11.768s 2. Alex Debon FTR +4.656s 3. Jules Cluzel Suter +4.789s 4. Toni Elias Moriwaki +6.978s 5. Roberto Rolfo Suter +7.178s 6. Mattia Pasini Motobi +11.804s 7. Thomas Luthi Moriwaki +11.861s 8. Simone Corsi Motobi +12.346s 9. Gabor Talmacsi Speed Up +13.821s 10. Sergio Gadea Pons Kalex +20.189s 11. Dominique Aegerter Suter +21.289s 12. Alex Baldolini ICP +21.360s 13. Fonsi Nieto Moriwaki +21.835s 14. Karel Abraham RSV +21.973s 15. Lukas Pesek Moriwaki +26.265s 16. Mike Di Meglio RSV +26.265s 17. Ratthapark Wilairot Bimota +26.599s 18. Kenny Noyes Promo Harris +33.833s 19. Andrea Iannone Speed Up +33.895s 20. Claudio Corti Suter +40.992s 21. Arne Tode Suter +43.119s 22. Hector Faubel Suter +43.249s 23. Scott Redding Suter +45.397s 24. Valentin Debise ADV +46.472s 25. Anthony Delhalle BQR +51.157s 26. Vladimir Ivanov Moriwaki +54.252s 27. Niccolo Canepa Scot +54.631s 28. Robertino Pietri Suter +1m15.976s 29. Bernat Martinez Bimota +1m16.222s 30. Yannick Guerra Moriwaki +1m20.651s 31. Mashel Al Naimi BQR +1m20.719s 32. Joan Olive Promo Harris +1m41.990s Not Classified Anthony West Mz-Re 12 laps Yuki Takahashi Tech 3 13 laps Vladimir Leonov Suter 13 laps Yonny Hernandez BQR 17 laps Axel Pons Pons Kalex 17 laps Raffaele De Rosa Tech 3 18 laps Alex De Angelis Scot 0 laps Julian Simon RSV 0 laps Stefan Bradl Suter 0 laps 
Moto2: Elias takes pole for Moto2's debut
Previous article

Moto2: Elias takes pole for Moto2's debut

Next article

Moto2: Tomizawa claims pole then crashes

Moto2: Tomizawa claims pole then crashes
Load comments