Moto2: Talmacsi awarded pole in Moto2

Former MotoGP rider Gabor Talmacsi has taken his first Moto2 pole position as his quick time at the end of Friday afternoon practice proved crucial when qualifying was cancelled due to poor weather at Estoril

Moto2: Talmacsi awarded pole in Moto2

All three world championship classes saw their qualifying sessions called off amid persistent downpours, but some of the Moto2 field had at least managed to get a little bit of running on slicks as the track dried in practice two.

Speed Up rider Talmacsi's 1m50.916s lap in that session therefore gave him pole, ahead of Julian Simon (Aspar Suter) and champion Toni Elias (Gresini Moriwaki). Second place is a big boost to Simon's bid to take the runner-up spot in the championship - as main rival Andrea Iannone, Talmacsi's team-mate, did not get a good lap in during the dry running and will start a disastrous 35th.

Also disadvantaged by the cancellation was Scott Redding, who was quickest on Friday morning but is only 25th on combined times. This morning's pacesetter Anthony West missed out due to a poor practice two position as well - he will start 21st.

World Supersport champion Kenan Sofuoglu takes a stunning front row starting position in fourth for his first Moto2 race. The Turkish rider has filled the Technomag-CIP seat formerly occupied by Shoya Tomizawa, who was tragically killed in an accident at Misano.

Tech 3's Raffaele de Rosa gains his best Moto2 grid position in fifth, followed by Alex de Angelis, Yonny Hernandez, Dominique Aegerter, Yuki Takahashi and Stefan Bradl.

Veteran Alex Debon will be missing from the field. The Spaniard, who is set to retire at the end of the season, fractured his collarbone in a crash this morning.

Pos Rider Bike Time Gap 1. Gabor Talmacsi Speed Up 1m50.916s 2. Julian Simon Suter 1m51.304s + 0.388s 3. Toni Elias Moriwaki 1m51.359s + 0.443s 4. Kenan Sofuoglu Suter 1m51.949s + 1.033s 5. Raffaele de Rosa Tech 3 1m52.808s + 1.892s 6. Alex de Angelis Motobi 1m53.233s + 2.317s 7. Yonny Hernandez BQR 1m54.214s + 3.298s 8. Dominique Aegerter Suter 1m54.247s + 3.331s 9. Yuki Takahashi Tech 3 1m54.302s + 3.386s 10. Stefan Bradl Suter 1m54.556s + 3.640s 11. Alex Baldolini ICP 1m54.568s + 3.652s 12. Thomas Luthi Moriwaki 1m54.594s + 3.678s 13. Robertino Pietri Suter 1m54.665s + 3.749s 14. Ricard Cardus Bimota 1m55.040s + 4.124s 15. Valentin Debise ADV 1m55.169s + 4.253s 16. Carmelo Morales Suter 1m55.415s + 4.499s 17. Claudio Corti Suter 1m55.428s + 4.512s 18. Simone Corsi Motobi 1m55.646s + 4.730s 19. Alex Debon FTR 1m55.765s + 4.849s 20. Axel Pons Pons Kalex 1m55.834s + 4.918s 21. Anthony West MZ 1m55.863s + 4.947s 22. Kenny Noyes Promoharris 1m55.940s + 5.024s 23. Karel Abraham FTR 1m55.988s + 5.072s 24. Hector Faubel Suter 1m56.082s + 5.166s 25. Scott Redding Suter 1m56.174s + 5.258s 26. Michael Ranseder Suter 1m56.281s + 5.365s 27. Jules Cluzel Suter 1m56.445s + 5.529s 28. Dani Rivas BQR 1m56.862s + 5.946s 29. Fonsi Nieto Moriwaki 1m57.050s + 6.134s 30. Roberto Rolfo Suter 1m57.359s + 6.443s 31. Ferruccio Lamborghini Moriwaki 1m57.391s + 6.475s 32. Ratthapark Wilairot Bimota 1m57.499s + 6.583s 33. Xavier Simeon Moriwaki 1m57.519s + 6.603s 34. Sergio Gadea Pons Kalex 1m57.855s + 6.939s 35. Andrea Iannone Speed Up 1m57.921s + 7.005s 36. Vladimir Ivanov Moriwaki 1m58.814s + 7.898s 37. Yannick Guerra Moriwaki 1m59.070s + 8.154s 38. Mashel Al Naimi BQR 2m00.622s + 9.706s 39. Mike di Meglio Suter 2m00.146s + 9.230s 40. Joan Olive Promoharris 2m00.233s + 9.317s 41. Hiromichi Kunikawa Bimota 2m07.182s + 16.266s 
Moto2: De Angelis fights to first Moto2 win

Previous article

Moto2: De Angelis fights to first Moto2 win

Next article

Moto2: Espargaro to step down to Moto2

Moto2: Espargaro to step down to Moto2
Load comments

About this article

Series Moto2
Author Matt Beer