Moto2: Kallio battles to take maiden victory

KTM's Mika Kallio scored his first 250cc win after a tough battle throughout the wet 250cc race at Motegi

Moto2: Kallio battles to take maiden victory

Kallio continued on as he has done in recent years at Motegi, having won the 125cc race the previous two years. Andrea Dovizioso led more than once but had to settle for second in the end, closing the gap to championship leader Jorge Lorenzo to 36 points.

Completing the podium was Hector Barbera, another contender for the win who faded in the closing laps as rain began to fall again.

The start of the race saw Dovizioso make a break at the front, as Lorenzo fell down the order. By lap five there was a lead group of four: Andrea Dovizioso leading Hiroshi Aoyama, Yuki Takahashi and Mika Kallio, as the rest of the field quickly dropped away.

These four, who were soon joined by Hector Barbera, traded the lead positions between them for the rest of the race. On lap eight Dovizioso was demoted to third as Takahashi and Barbera forced past him, losing another place to Kallio on lap ten as Takahashi opened a break in the lead.

Lap twelve saw Kallio move ahead of Barbera into second, while a desperate move by Barbera on the next lap trying to take third place back from Aoyama allowed Dovizioso to sneak back past both of them.

Dovizioso soon closed on the lead duo. Lap 17 saw mayhem, as Dovizioso took second from Kallio, only to lose the position to Kallio at the next corner.

Kallio immediately went on the attack and passed Takahashi for the lead, who didn't stay second as Dovizioso went past as well, while Aoyama closed in to make a group of four fighting for the win.

A lap later Dovizioso retook the lead, while Aoyama slipped past Takahashi into third. Dovizioso's lead only lasted a lap however, Kallio moving back ahead with Aoyama following past Dovizioso too.

Meanwhile Takahashi had an off, but rejoined and only lost one place.

With two laps remaining Dovizioso retook second place from Aoyama. Any hopes Aoyama had of regaining the place ended when he fell at the next corner, although he was able to remount and take a top ten finish.

This left Kallio and Dovizioso to fight it out for the win. Any slim hopes Dovizioso had of wrestling the lead went when he got baulked lapping backmarkers with just over a lap remaining, allowing Kallio to take his first-ever victory in the 250cc class.

Dovizioso's second place allowed him to close the margin on championship leader Lorenzo who finished the race in eleventh place. Barbera ended up taking a podium finish, while Yuki Takahashi finished fourth despite his off.

Alex de Angelis made a poor start but recovered to take fifth to still have an outside chance at the championship, while faller Hiroshi Aoyama and pole man Shuhei Aoyama finished in eighth and ninth respectively.


Pos  Rider             Make      Time
 1.  Mika Kallio       KTM       48:28.585
 2.  Andrea Dovizioso  Honda     +   4.893
 3.  Hector Barbera    Aprilia   +  21.527
 4.  Yuki Takahashi    Honda     +  23.488
 5.  Alex de Angelis   Aprilia   +  25.378
 6.  Julian Simon      Honda     +  42.264
 7.  Marco Simoncelli  Gilera    +  48.782
 8.  Hiroshi Aoyama    KTM       +  57.782
 9.  Shuhei Aoyama     Honda     +1:09.049
10.  Thomas Luthi      Aprilia   +1:10.837
11.  Jorge Lorenzo     Aprilia   +1:13.035
12.  Seijin Oikawa     Yamaha    +1:26.371
13.  Jules Cluzel      Aprilia   +1:36.236
14.  Youichi Ui        Yamaha    +1:47.098
15.  Alvaro Bautista   Aprilia   +1:50.081
16.  R. Locatelli      Gilera    +1:58.741
17.  Aleix Espargaro   Aprilia   +2:06.782
18.  Imre Toth         Aprilia   +2:10.415
19.  Eugene Laverty    Honda     +  1 lap
20.  Yuki Hamamoto     Yamaha    +  1 lap


     Rider             Make      On Lap
     Dan Linfoot       Aprilia     19
     Fabrizio Lai      Aprilia     17
     Takumi Takahashi  Honda        3
     R. Wilairot       Honda        2
     Dirk Heidolf      Aprilia      1
     Karel Abraham     Aprilia      0
     Alex Baldolini    Aprilia      0
     Efren Vazquez     Aprilia      0
Moto2: S Aoyama steals last-minute pole
Previous article

Moto2: S Aoyama steals last-minute pole

Next article

Moto2: Lorenzo dominant in first qualifying

Moto2: Lorenzo dominant in first qualifying