Misano Moto2: Marc Marquez on pole as Pol Espargaro crashes

Marc Marquez moved one step closer to the 2012 Moto2 title by claiming his seventh pole of the year at Misano

Misano Moto2: Marc Marquez on pole as Pol Espargaro crashes

Title rival Pol Espargaro, on pole in the previous three consecutive races, was in contention but with five minutes to go dropped the front of his Pons Kalex at Turn 15.

The Spaniard did at least have the comfort of watching the rest of the field fail to beat his benchmark, allowing him to hang on to second.

In his absence however no one was seriously able to challenge Marquez in the final minutes. The Monlau Suter rider currently leads the championship by 48 points heading into the final six races.

With Espargaro unable to improve and Marquez not needing to, the final minutes centred around the battle for third, eventually decided in favour of Marc VDS's Scott Redding.

Takaaki Nakagami and Andrea Iannone were also in the mix, but eventually had to settle for fourth and fifth respectively.

It is only the second time all year Nakagami (Italtrans Kalex) has cracked the top four.

Iannone, set to step up into Ducati's satellite MotoGP team in 2013, finished just over one quarter of a second down on Marquez.

Sixth went to Thomas Luthi (Paddock Suter), who narrowly edged out Esteve Rabat (Pons Kalex), Ratthapark Wilairot (Gresini Suter) and Mika Kallio (Marc VDS Kalex).

Pos Rider Team/Bike Time Gap 1. Marc Marquez Monlau Suter 1m38.242s 2. Pol Espargaro Pons Kalex 1m38.286s + 0.044s 3. Scott Redding Marc VDS Kalex 1m38.339s + 0.097s 4. Takaaki Nakagami Italtrans Kalex 1m38.369s + 0.127s 5. Andrea Iannone Speed Master Speed Up 1m38.503s + 0.261s 6. Thomas Luthi Paddock Suter 1m38.617s + 0.375s 7. Esteve Rabat Pons Kalex 1m38.699s + 0.457s 8. Ratthapark Wilairot Gresini Suter 1m38.793s + 0.551s 9. Mika Kallio Marc VDS Kalex 1m38.794s + 0.552s 10. Bradley Smith Tech 3 1m38.849s + 0.607s 11. Yuki Takahashi Forward FTR 1m38.866s + 0.624s 12. Julian Simon Avintia Suter 1m38.919s + 0.677s 13. Simone Corsi Ioda FTR 1m39.043s + 0.801s 14. Xavier Simeon Tech 3 1m39.074s + 0.832s 15. Johann Zarco JIR Motobi 1m39.114s + 0.872s 16. Claudio Corti Italtrans Kalex 1m39.122s + 0.880s 17. Dominique Aegerter Technomag-CIP Suter 1m39.253s + 1.011s 18. Jordi Torres Aspar Suter 1m39.277s + 1.035s 19. Randy Krummenacher Switzerland Kalex 1m39.417s + 1.175s 20. Mike di Meglio Kiefer Kalex 1m39.420s + 1.178s 21. Alex de Angelis Forward FTR 1m39.470s + 1.228s 22. Axel Pons Pons Kalex 1m39.486s + 1.244s 23. Gino Rea Gresini Suter 1m39.603s + 1.361s 24. Nicolas Terol Aspar Suter 1m39.804s + 1.562s 25. Anthony West QMMF Speed Up 1m40.125s + 1.883s 26. Tomoyoshi Koyama Technomag-CIP Suter 1m40.130s + 1.888s 27. Alessandro Andreozzi Speed Master Speed Up 1m40.471s + 2.229s 28. Steven Odendaal Arguinano AJR 1m41.156s + 2.914s 29. Marcel Schrotter SAG Bimota 1m41.222s + 2.980s 30. Marco Colandrea SAG FTR 1m41.951s + 3.709s 31. Elena Rosell QMMF Speed Up 1m42.102s + 3.860s 
Brno Moto2: Marc Marquez triumphs in four-way fight

Previous article

Brno Moto2: Marc Marquez triumphs in four-way fight

Next article

Misano Moto2: Marc Marquez defeats Pol Espargaro in interrupted race

Misano Moto2: Marc Marquez defeats Pol Espargaro in interrupted race
Load comments

About this article

Series Moto2
Drivers Alex Marquez
Author Sam Tremayne