Marc Marquez takes another Moto2 pole at Estoril

Marc Marquez survived a late charge from Thomas Luthi to claim his second straight Moto2 pole position at Estoril

Marc Marquez takes another Moto2 pole at Estoril

Marquez (Monlau Suter) was on top for almost the entire session, but his position at the top of the timesheets finally came under threat when Luthi (Paddock Suter) put together his best lap two minutes from the session's end.

Luthi missed out by just one hundredth of a second however, a gap which proved academic when Marquez extended his advantage on his final tour, breaking into the 1m40s bracket for the first time.

Scott Redding (Marc VDS Kalex) was a quarter of a second down on the pole fight but did enough to claim third ahead of Johann Zarco (JIR Motobi) and Pol Espargaro (Pons Kalex), the man currently closest to Marquez in the championship.

Like Marquez, Andrea Iannone (Speed Master Speed Up) improved on his final tour to jump into sixth, in the process demoting Julian Simon (Avintia FTR) to the third row.

The Spaniard will start alongside the Aspar Suter of compatriot Toni Elias - winner at Estoril in MotoGP back in 2006 - and Alex de Angelis's Forward Suter.

Pos Rider Team/Bike Time Gap 1. Marc Marquez Monlau Suter 1m40.934s 2. Thomas Luthi Paddock Suter 1m41.054s + 0.120s 3. Scott Redding Marc VDS Kalex 1m41.278s + 0.344s 4. Johann Zarco JIR Motobi 1m41.311s + 0.377s 5. Pol Espargaro Pons Kalex 1m41.424s + 0.490s 6. Andrea Iannone Speed Master Speed Up 1m41.461s + 0.527s 7. Julian Simon Avintia FTR 1m41.469s + 0.535s 8. Toni Elias Aspar Suter 1m41.504s + 0.570s 9. Alex de Angelis Forward Suter 1m41.536s + 0.602s 10. Dominique Aegerter Technomag-CIP Suter 1m41.539s + 0.605s 11. Takaaki Nakagami Italtrans Kalex 1m41.636s + 0.702s 12. Ricard Cardus Arguinano AJR 1m41.671s + 0.737s 13. Bradley Smith Tech 3 1m41.733s + 0.799s 14. Mike di Meglio Speed Master Speed Up 1m41.815s + 0.881s 15. Nicolas Terol Aspar Suter 1m41.841s + 0.907s 16. Esteve Rabat Pons Kalex 1m41.954s + 1.020s 17. Mika Kallio Marc VDS Kalex 1m41.990s + 1.056s 18. Simone Corsi Ioda FTR 1m42.130s + 1.196s 19. Randy Krummenacher Switzerland Kalex 1m42.138s + 1.204s 20. Yuki Takahashi Forward Suter 1m42.319s + 1.385s 21. Claudio Corti Italtrans Kalex 1m42.359s + 1.425s 22. Xavier Simeon Tech 3 1m42.377s + 1.443s 23. Axel Pons Pons Kalex 1m42.527s + 1.593s 24. Roberto Rolfo Technomag-CIP Suter 1m42.947s + 2.013s 25. Gino Rea Gresini Moriwaki 1m43.032s + 2.098s 26. Anthony West QMMF Moriwaki 1m43.134s + 2.200s 27. Max Neukirchner Kiefer Kalex 1m43.205s + 2.271s 28. Ratthapark Wilairot Gresini Moriwaki 1m43.450s + 2.516s 29. Alexander Lundh MZ FTR 1m44.105s + 3.171s 30. Angel Rodriguez SAG FTR 1m44.253s + 3.319s 31. Elena Rosell QMMF Moriwaki 1m45.154s + 4.220s 32. Marco Colandrea SAG FTR 1m45.845s + 4.911s 
Pol Espargaro awarded maiden victory as rain truncates Jerez Moto2 race

Previous article

Pol Espargaro awarded maiden victory as rain truncates Jerez Moto2 race

Next article

Marquez denies Espargaro in thrilling last-lap Estoril duel

Marquez denies Espargaro in thrilling last-lap Estoril duel
Load comments

About this article

Series Moto2
Drivers Alex Marquez
Author Sam Tremayne