Jerez Moto2: Rabat takes maiden victory with dominant display

Esteve Rabat took his maiden grand prix victory in dominant fashion in the Moto2 race at Jerez

Jerez Moto2: Rabat takes maiden victory with dominant display

The Spaniard, who now leads the championship, eased away from Scott Redding in the early stages with a series of fastest laps and was able to control the race from there.

Redding appeared to launch a fightback just after the halfway stage of the race, but as soon as he took a few tenths out of the leader Rabat was able to respond and increase his lead again.

While Redding settled for a comfortable second place, the battle for the final podium spot provided some excitement in the closing stages of an otherwise quiet race at the front.

Pol Espargaro started closing on third placed Takaaki Nakagami around half distance, but his progress was halted when he got stuck behind Rafid Topan Sucipto as they were lapping him.

Nakagami used that break to set some quick laps while he did not have to defend, but once Espargaro settled down again he closed the gap once more.

The Spaniard launched his first attack at the Dry Sack hairpin with three laps to go. Despite running wide he was able to hold the inside line for the following corner, but Nakagami then surprised him by taking the place back on the exit of that left hander.

Nakagami then made a mistake at Turn 3 on the following lap, costing him just enough time to allow Espargaro to pass him into Turn 4.

Behind them, Nicolas Terol had a quiet race to fifth after gaining two places at the start, while Xavier Simeon snatched sixth from Jordi Torres at the end.

Mika Kallio, who went into the race tied for second in the championship, crashed out as he tried to recover from qualifying only 15th.

The Finn was up to ninth by lap 15, but he fell at Dry Sack as he tried to take eighth place from Dominique Aegerter.

Results - 26 laps: Pos Rider Bike Time/Gap
1. Esteve Rabat Pons Kalex 45m04.450s
2. Scott Redding Marc VDS Kalex + 4.261s
3. Pol Espargaro Pons Kalex + 7.517s
4. Takaaki Nakagami Italtrans Kalex + 7.721s
5. Nicolas Terol Aspar Suter + 11.535s
6. Xavier Simeon SAG Kalex + 13.264s
7. Jordi Torres Aspar Suter + 13.762s
8. Dominique Aegerter Technomag Suter + 21.105s
9. Toni Elias Avintia Kalex + 24.221s
10. Marcel Schrotter SAG Kalex + 24.419s
11. Thomas Luthi Paddock Suter + 26.526s
12. Anthony West QMMF Speed Up + 27.005s
13. Johann Zarco Ioda Suter + 35.559s
14. Simone Corsi Forward Speed Up + 35.656s
15. Alex de Angelis Forward Speed Up + 35.833s
16. Mattia Pasini Forward Speed Up + 44.877s
17. Julian Simon Italtrans Kalex + 44.944s
18. Randy Krummenacher Technomag Suter + 50.024s
19. Sandro Cortese Intact Kalex + 50.327s
20. Mike di Meglio JiR Motobi + 51.861s
21. Ricard Cardus Forward Speed Up + 52.312s
22. Steven Odendaal Arginano Speed Up + 52.405s
23. Yuki Takahashi Tady Moriwaki + 1m03.376s
24. Alberto Moncayo Arginano Speed Up + 1m08.546s
25. Louis Rossi Tech 3 + 1m10.022s
26. Doni Tata Pradita Gresini Suter + 1m19.177s
27. Danny Kent Tech 3 + 1m36.027s
28. Rafid Topan Sucipto QMMF Speed Up + 1 lap Retirements: Mika Kallio Marc VDS Kalex 11 laps Kyle Smith Avintia Kalex 15 laps Dani Rivas TSR Kalex 17 laps Ratthapark Wilairot Gresini Suter 25 laps Axel Pons Pons Kalex 25 laps Alex Marinelarena TargoBankt Suter 0 lap
Jerez Moto2: Esteve Rabat claims breakthrough first pole

Previous article

Jerez Moto2: Esteve Rabat claims breakthrough first pole

Next article

Le Mans Moto2: Takaa Nakagami grabs maiden pole

Le Mans Moto2: Takaa Nakagami grabs maiden pole
Load comments

About this article

Series Moto2