Mid-Ohio IndyCar: Sebastien Bourdais leads practice for KV

Sebastien Bourdais ended the morning fastest after a busy first practice session for this weekend's IndyCar round at Mid-Ohio

The Frenchman first took his place at the top two-thirds of the way through the session, and reclaimed it right at the end with a 1m06.2034s flying lap in his KV Racing Technology Dallara-Chevrolet.

Will Power finished the session second-fastest for Penske with a time 0.16s down on Bourdais', despite a 360-degree spin in the closing minutes.

Power's spin was entirely in keeping with the tone of the morning, during which nearly 10 minutes were spent under red flags due to single-car incidents.

Culprits included Stefano Coletti, Luca Filippi (both of whom also spent short stints in first place early on), and Tony Kanaan, although all were spared contact with the barriers.

It was also an abridged session for points leader Juan Pablo Montoya, who was forced to watch most of the session from the pits while his Team Penske crew worked to sort out a problem with the alternator on his car.

He finally managed to hit the track with just enough time to complete a dozen laps.


Pos Driver Team Car Time Gap Laps
1 Sebastien Bourdais KVSH Racing Dallara/Chevrolet 1m06.2034s - 26
2 Will Power Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet 1m06.3658s 0.1624s 25
3 Josef Newgarden CFH Racing Dallara/Chevrolet 1m06.3823s 0.1789s 28
4 Takuma Sato AJ Foyt Enterprises Dallara/Honda 1m06.3944s 0.1910s 22
5 Jack Hawksworth AJ Foyt Enterprises Dallara/Honda 1m06.4845s 0.2811s 28
6 Scott Dixon Chip Ganassi Racing Dallara/Chevrolet 1m06.4895s 0.2861s 20
7 Graham Rahal Rahal Letterman Lanigan Dallara/Honda 1m06.6307s 0.4273s 23
8 Marco Andretti Andretti Autosport Dallara/Honda 1m06.6395s 0.4361s 19
9 Carlos Munoz Andretti Autosport Dallara/Honda 1m06.6921s 0.4887s 24
10 Simon Pagenaud Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet 1m06.7361s 0.5327s 25
11 Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti Autosport Dallara/Honda 1m06.7564s 0.5530s 18
12 Helio Castroneves Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet 1m06.7700s 0.5666s 22
13 Tristan Vautier Dale Coyne Racing Dallara/Honda 1m06.8592s 0.6558s 31
14 Gabby Chaves Bryan Herta Autosport Dallara/Honda 1m06.8666s 0.6632s 33
15 Tony Kanaan Chip Ganassi Racing Dallara/Chevrolet 1m06.8733s 0.6699s 17
16 Ryan Briscoe Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Dallara/Honda 1m06.9967s 0.7933s 24
17 Charlie Kimball Chip Ganassi Racing Dallara/Chevrolet 1m06.9977s 0.7943s 22
18 Justin Wilson Andretti Autosport Dallara/Honda 1m07.0069s 0.8035s 24
19 Luca Filippi CFH Racing Dallara/Chevrolet 1m07.0102s 0.8068s 30
20 James Jakes Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Dallara/Honda 1m07.0114s 0.8080s 27
21 Juan Pablo Montoya Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet 1m07.1050s 0.9016s 12
22 Stefano Coletti KV Racing Technology Dallara/Chevrolet 1m07.1711s 0.9677s 33
23 Sage Karam Chip Ganassi Racing Dallara/Chevrolet 1m07.3675s 1.1641s 29
24 Rodolfo Gonzalez Dale Coyne Racing Dallara/Honda 1m07.6283s 1.4249s 34

Previous article CART champion Alex Zanardi wants to make Indianapolis 500 debut
Next article Mid-Ohio IndyCar: Ganassi's Scott Dixon leads Friday practice