Herta Takes First Win of the Season

Brian Herta has taken his first 2005 IndyCar win, having started from pole at the Michigan International Speedway

Michigan native Herta beat his teammate, points leader Dan Wheldon, by less than four hundredths of a second - one of the all-time closest IRL race finishes. The Andretti Green Racing duo finished ahead of Tomas Scheckter, Tony Kanaan, Sam Hornish Jr. and Buddy Lazier.

The race around the D-shaped oval ran uncharacteristically smooth, with only one crash, on lap 181, which saw Pather Racing's Townsend Bell spin in Turn Two.

Herta's win completes a full house for his Andretti Green Racing team, now having all their drivers win a race in 2005.

Pos  Driver              Make-Engine      Laps
 1.  Bryan Herta         Dallara-Honda    200
 2.  Dan Wheldon         Dallara-Honda    200
 3.  Tomas Scheckter     Dallara-Chevy    200
 4.  Tony Kanaan         Dallara-Honda    200
 5.  Sam Hornish Jr.     Dallara-Toyota   200
 6.  Buddy Lazier        Dallara-Chevy    200
 7.  Scott Sharp         Panoz-Honda      200
 8.  Dario Franchitti    Dallara-Honda    200
 9.  Patrick Carpentier  Dallara-Toyota   199
10.  Ryan Briscoe        Panoz-Toyota     199
11.  Alex Barron         Dallara-Toyota   199
12.  A.J. Foyt IV        Dallara-Toyota   198
13.  Jimmy Kite          Dallara-Toyota   197
14.  Vitor Meira         Panoz-Honda      185
15.  Townsend Bell       Dallara-Chevy    180
16.  Kosuke Matsuura     Panoz-Honda      180
17.  Jaques Lazier       Panoz-Toyota     179
18.  Roger Yasukawa      Dallara-Honda    179
19.  Scott Dixon         Panoz-Toyota     166
20.  Danica Patrick      Panoz-Honda      163
21.  Helio Castroneves   Dallara-Toyota   138
22.  Buddy Rice          Panoz-Honda      126
23.  Ed Carpenter        Dallara-Toyota   118
Previous article Herta Takes Michigan Pole
Next article Bell Blames Hornish for Shunt