Indy Lights Freedom 100: Dean Stoneman wins by 0.002s

Dean Stoneman beat Ed Jones by just two thousandths of a second to make it back-to-back Indy Lights victories at Indianapolis by winning the Freedom 100

Indy Lights Freedom 100: Dean Stoneman wins by 0.002s

Andretti Autosport driver Stoneman and Carlin man Jones had fought almost exclusively for the lead during the 40-lap race, although they were separated by Juan Piedrahita with six laps to go when the Pelfrey driver squeezed inside Jones at Turn 1.

Heamin Choi swiping the wall at the first corner then triggered a caution and set up a single-lap shootout.

At the restart, Piedrahita almost went into the back of Stoneman and swerved into the pit entrance in avoidance. Jones took advantage to sweep into the lead at Turn 1.

Stoneman wasn't finished though, and he went back around the outside of Jones through Turns 3 and 4 and onto the pit straight.

The pair crossed the line side-by-side, with Stoneman edging it by 0.0024 seconds.

That was two ten-thousandths of a second smaller than the previous narrowest winning margin in the race, when Peter Dempsey triumphed in 2013.

It was a long-awaited first win in the race for team owner Michael Andretti, and followed Stoneman's maiden series win in the second of the Indianapolis road course races earlier in the month.

The result promotes the Indy Lights rookie into second in the standings, 29 points behind Jones.

Dalton Kellett took third despite having made contact with his front wing against Jones' rear-left tyre on the pit straight prior to the final caution, with Jones' tyre somehow resisting a failure.

Shelby Blackstock, Scott Hargrove and the other two Carlin entries of Felix Serralles and Neil Alberico were the next finishers, while Piedrahita ended up eighth ahead of a quiet Felix Rosenqvist.

Other cautions were caused by Kyle Kaiser sliding into the wall at Turn 4 on the first green flag lap (the start was delayed for two laps due to debris) and Santiago Urrutia spinning out of fifth with around 10 laps remaining.

RC Enerson was in the lead battle before pitting following a scrape with Zach Veach on lap 12.


Pos Driver Team Laps Gap
1 Dean Stoneman Andretti Autosport 40 41m08.6299s
2 Ed Jones Carlin 40 0.0024s
3 Dalton Kellett Andretti Autosport 40 1.1024s
4 Shelby Blackstock Andretti Autosport 40 1.2109s
5 Scott Hargrove Team Pelfrey 40 1.5703s
6 Felix Serralles Carlin 40 1.5862s
7 Neil Alberico Carlin 40 1.9533s
8 Juan Piedrahita Team Pelfrey 40 2.2687s
9 Felix Rosenqvist Belardi Auto Racing 40 3.2538s
10 Zach Veach Belardi Auto Racing 40 3.2686s
11 R.C. Enerson Schmidt Peterson Motorsports 39 1 Lap
12 Heamin Choi Schmidt Peterson Motorsports 35 Spun off
13 Zachary Claman Juncos Racing 34 6 Laps
14 Santiago Urrutia Schmidt Peterson Motorsports 29 Mechanical
15 Andre Negrao Schmidt Peterson Motorsports 19 Mechanical
16 Kyle Kaiser Juncos Racing 2 Contact


Pos Driver Points
1 Ed Jones 185
2 Dean Stoneman 156
3 Santiago Urrutia 146
4 Kyle Kaiser 144
5 Felix Serralles 140
6 Felix Rosenqvist 120
7 Zach Veach 114
8 R.C. Enerson 111
9 Shelby Blackstock 104
10 Scott Hargrove 93

Dean Stoneman claims his first US win in Indianapolis Indy Lights
Previous article

Dean Stoneman claims his first US win in Indianapolis Indy Lights

Next article

Top three Indy Lights drivers put on probation after Road America

Top three Indy Lights drivers put on probation after Road America