Autosport Awards

Autosport Awards

Stars prepare for gala

It's Autosport Awards time again, when the biggest stars of your favourite sport turn out for international motorsport's premier gala awards this evening at London's Grosvenor House Hotel in Park Lane

Stars prepare for gala

Among the awards, which include International Racing Driver of the Year, Racing Car of the Year, International Rally Driver of the Year and International Rally Car of the Year, the ceremony features the McLaren Autosport BRDC Award - which is perhaps the most important accolade a young British racer can hope to win.

The International Driver of the Year Award went to then BMW Williams driver Juan Pablo Montoya last year, and has in the past been held by Ayrton Senna, Alain Prost and Keke Rosberg. Up for the gong this time around is seven-time world champion and previous winner Michael Schumacher, last year's British Driver of the Year Jenson Button and IRL champion Tony Kanaan.

Six young British hopefuls will be holding their breath to find out who will earn the coveted 2004 McLaren Autosport BRDC Award. Perhaps the most important prize on offer on the night and certainly a key achievement on any aspiring British drivers' target list, the winner will get a test in a McLaren-Mercedes Formula 1 car and receive lifetime membership of the British Racing Drivers Club.

He will also earn the right to have his name join an exclusive list of former winners that includes David Coulthard, Jenson Button, Anthony Davidson and Dario Franchitti.

Among the candidates picked from the junior categories this year are 2004 Formula BMW GB champion Tim Bridgman, Formula Renault frontrunner Mike Conway, fellow Formula Renault driver Paul di Resta, 2004 Formula Palmer Audi Champion Jonathan Kennard, 2004 EuroBOSS Champion Scott Mansell and fifth-placed Formula Renault driver Susie Stoddart.

The evening will also see the introduction of a new Autosport Award sponsored by Bahrain International Circuit which recognises a company or person that has developed the most innovative product or service in motorsport. Design, engineering and technical breakthroughs as well as safety developments will be included in the award.'s readers will be particularly interested in the winner of this year's Rookie of the Year, having voted for it themselves on the website. Last year's winner Dan Wheldon justified your faith in him, as the young Briton went on to finish runner-up in his second season in the IRL IndyCar Series. Other previous winners include Jenson Button, Juan Pablo Montoya and Mark Webber.

This year F1's Christian Klien, IRL's Darren Manning, Champ Car drivers AJ Allmendinger and Justin Wilson, BTCC's Rob Huff and NASCAR's Kasey Kahne will fight it out for the website trophy.

Gordon out of ROC

Previous article

Gordon out of ROC

Next article

Ntl Racing: Thompson

Ntl Racing: Thompson
Load comments
The one-time Schumacher rival rebooting his career Down Under Plus

The one-time Schumacher rival rebooting his career Down Under

Joey Mawson made waves in the middle of the last decade, beating future Haas Formula 1 driver Mick Schumacher - among other highly-rated talents - to the 2016 German F4 title. A run in F1's feeder GP3 category only caused his career to stall, but now back in Australia Mawson's S5000 title success has set that to rights

May 8, 2021
The lesson football’s would-be wreckers could learn from racing Plus

The lesson football’s would-be wreckers could learn from racing

OPINION: The greed-driven push for a European Super League that threatened to tear football apart is collapsing at the seams. Motor racing's equivalent, the football-themed Superleague Formula series of 2008-11, was everything that the proposed ESL never could be

Apr 21, 2021
The F1 and Indy 'nearly man' that found contentment in Japan Plus

The F1 and Indy 'nearly man' that found contentment in Japan

Having had the door to F1 slammed in his face and come within three laps of winning the Indianapolis 500, the collapse of a Peugeot LMP1 shot meant Japan was Bertrand Baguette's last chance of a career. But it's one which he has grasped with both hands

Feb 27, 2021
The female all-rounder who arrived "too early" Plus

The female all-rounder who arrived "too early"

From Formula 3 to truck racing, Dakar and EuroNASCAR via a winning stint in the DTM, there's not much Ellen Lohr hasn't seen in a stellar racing career that highlights the merit in being a generalist. But she believes her career came too early...

Feb 17, 2021
How Radical's latest machines fare on track Plus

How Radical's latest machines fare on track

The lightweight sportscar manufacturer has not rewritten the rulebook with its latest machines, but the new SR3 XX and SR10 still provide a step forward on its previous successful models

Feb 8, 2021
The real-life racing rogues stranger than fiction Plus

The real-life racing rogues stranger than fiction

The forthcoming Netflix film linking the world of underworld crime and motorsport plays on a theme that isn't exactly new. Over the years, several shady figures have attempted to make it in racing before their dubious dealings caught up with them

Jan 31, 2021
How a GP is thriving in a COVID-free territory Plus

How a GP is thriving in a COVID-free territory

The New Zealand Grand Prix's mix of rising talent and big-name stars thrilled the crowds (yes, remember crowds?) assembled for the Toyota Racing Series meeting at Hampton Downs last weekend and left distant observers craving a repeat

Jan 26, 2021
How a much-changed Macau GP kept the party going Plus

How a much-changed Macau GP kept the party going

OPINION: The 67th edition of the Macau Grand Prix might have been a largely muted affair to the outside world without its international influx and star line-ups, another victim to the COVID-19 pandemic, but organisers deserve huge credit for keeping the party going

Nov 24, 2020