Race 1: Karthikeyan wins

RC Motorsport driver Narain Karthikeyan had a lights to flag win in the first World Series by Nissan race at Valencia today (Saturday). While the pole position man resisted race long pressure, Tiago Monteiro's failure to win meant that Heikki Kovalainen was crowned champion after driving through the field to take a point

Race 1: Karthikeyan wins

Karthikeyan made no mistakes at the start, enjoying a perfect getaway. He had no worries into the first corner where the top four kept their grid positions. The Indian did not have it easy though because Jean-Christophe Ravier chased him all the way.

Karthikeyan has a reputation for errors under pressure but this time kept calm all the way despite a few wobbles.

Carlin drivers Monteiro and Olivier Pla each endured a desperately dull race and trailed home third and fourth. But just behind them was an enormous brawl. Santiago Porteiro led a train that comprised six cars by the end of the race. Enrique Bernoldi was in that queue, but only because he had spun out of a secure fourth place early on.

Kovalainen was at the back of this ultimately static bunch, which meant tenth position. It was good drive from the back of the grid and the point was about the best the Finn could expect. It wasn't the best way, to claim the championship but the Pons Racing team still enjoyed the celebrations in its first year of car racing.

Narain Karthikeyan (RC Motorsport), 25m26.267s
Jean-Christophe Ravier (Epsilon-Euskadi), +0.454s
Tiago Monteir0 (Carlin Motorsport), +16.412s
Olivier Pla (Carlin Motorsport), +29.341s
Santiago Porteiro (Porfesa Competicion), +33.618s
Adrian Villes (Pons Racing), +33.990s


Karthikeyan shines

Race 2: Monteiro's revenge