Nurburgring FR3.5: Oliver Rowland takes pole again for race two

Formula Renault 3.5 championship leader Oliver Rowland took a second consecutive pole position at the Nurburgring in qualifying for Sunday's race, boosting his ambitions of achieving a double victory

Nurburgring FR3.5: Oliver Rowland takes pole again for race two

The Racing Steps-supported Fortec driver recorded his fastest time of 1m40.637s in the final minute of the half-hour session, to knock Silverstone winner Tio Ellinas off the provisional pole slot.

If Rowland's form was familiar, Pietro Fantin in second and Tech 1 Racing rookie Roy Nissany achieved their highest grid positions of the season in second and third after finding late gains.

Brazilian Fantin, who achieved a podium and fastest lap at Silverstone last weekend, was a fixture at the top of the timing screens for much of the session.

The gap between Fantin in second and Carlin racer Tom Dillmann in fourth was just 0.088 seconds. Behind the Frenchman, Ellinas picked up fifth in an all-Strakka third row completed by Gustav Malja.

The DAMS pairing of Nurburgring race one first lap retiree Dean Stoneman and Saturday's runner-up Nyck de Vries ended the morning in seventh and ninth, sandwiching Rowland's closest title challenger Matthieu Vaxiviere.

After starring on Saturday, FR3.5 debutant Yu Kanamaru had a tough second qualifying session and will start last. The Japanese driver's Pons team-mate and fellow newcomer Rene Binder will line-up 17th.

Qualifying took place in overcast conditions and it was apparent that tyres were taking longer than normal to come up to temperature. Thunderstorms are forecast in the region this afternoon.


Pos Driver Team Time Gap
1 Oliver Rowland Fortec Motorsports 1m40.637s -
2 Pietro Fantin International Draco Racing 1m40.906s 0.269s
3 Roy Nissany Tech 1 Racing 1m40.976s 0.339s
4 Tom Dillmann Jagonya Ayam with Carlin 1m40.994s 0.357s
5 Tio Ellinas Strakka Racing 1m41.031s 0.394s
6 Gustav Malja Strakka Racing 1m41.064s 0.427s
7 Dean Stoneman DAMS 1m41.088s 0.451s
8 Matthieu Vaxiviere Lotus 1m41.160s 0.523s
9 Nyck de Vries DAMS 1m41.224s 0.587s
10 Aurelien Panis Tech 1 Racing 1m41.488s 0.851s
11 Jazeman Jaafar Fortec Motorsports 1m41.673s 1.036s
12 Egor Orudzhev Arden Motorsport 1m41.722s 1.085s
13 Nicholas Latifi Arden Motorsport 1m41.771s 1.134s
14 Bruno Bonifacio International Draco Racing 1m41.873s 1.236s
15 Beitske Visser AVF 1m42.047s 1.410s
16 Alfonso Celis AVF 1m42.059s 1.422s
17 Rene Binder Pons Racing 1m42.223s 1.586s
18 Sean Gelael Jagonya Ayam with Carlin 1m42.317s 1.680s
19 Marlon Stockinger Lotus 1m42.386s 1.749s
20 Yu Kanamaru Pons Racing 1m42.415s 1.778s


Nurburgring FR3.5: Oliver Rowland stretches lead with another win

Nurburgring FR3.5: Tio Ellinas wins second race in mixed conditions