Nurburgring Formula V8 3.5: Debutant Palou claims second pole

Formula V8 3.5 newcomer Alex Palou set the fastest lap of the weekend to claim his second pole at the Nurburgring

The Japanese Formula 3 frontrunner became the first driver all weekend to drop below the 1m41.000s barrier as he set a 1m40.840s with just one minute of the 30-minute session remaining.

Palou, who is replacing the unavailable Nelson Mason at Teo Martin Motorsport this weekend, almost failed to make qualifying as his car had to be towed to the pits for the start of the session.

The lack of drive proved to be a temporary issue as he set a time 0.345 seconds faster than Diego Menchaca, who rekindled the form he had in Friday morning's practice session to claim a spot on the front-row.

Championship leader Pietro Fittipaldi struggled to make his mark in the second qualifying session. His time of 1m41.602s looked set to secure the Lotus driver his ninth pole position of the season, but a flurry of fast laps in the closing minutes relegated him to sixth.

The session wasn't much kinder on his Lotus team-mate Rene Binder. Binder, who has been off the pace for most of the weekend, will be starting ninth as late improvements from seventh-placed Alfonso Celis and eighth-placed Yu Kanamaru pushed the Austrian down the order.

Towards the front of the field, Matevos Isaakyan was unlucky not to find himself on the front-row as his 1m41.257s was just 0.072s slower than Menchaca's best. However, he was just 0.005s faster than fourth-placed Roy Nissany, the latter enjoying his best session so far at the Nurburgring.


Pos Driver Team Time Gap
1 Alex Palou Teo Martin Motorsport 1m40.840s -
2 Diego Menchaca Fortec Motorsports 1m41.185s 0.345s
3 Matevos Isaakyan SMP Racing by AVF 1m41.257s 0.417s
4 Roy Nissany RP Motorsport 1m41.262s 0.422s
5 Egor Orudzhev SMP Racing by AVF 1m41.415s 0.575s
6 Pietro Fittipaldi Lotus 1m41.602s 0.762s
7 Alfonso Celis Fortec Motorsports 1m41.793s 0.953s
8 Yu Kanamaru RP Motorsport 1m41.831s 0.991s
9 Rene Binder Lotus 1m41.895s 1.055s
10 Konstantin Tereschenko Teo Martin Motorsport 1m41.973s 1.133s
11 Damiano Fioravanti RP Motorsport 1m42.112s 1.272s
12 Giuseppe Cipriani Il Barone Rampante 1m44.006s 3.166s

Previous article Nurburgring Formula V8 3.5: Palou grabs pole on series debut
Next article Nurburgring Formula V8 3.5: Isaakyan wins, drama for Fittipaldi