Montanari Takes Monaco Pole

Italian Christian Montanari will start tomorrow's World Series by Renault race at Monaco from pole position, after setting the fastest lap of a two-session qualifying

Montanari Takes Monaco Pole

In order to avoid too many cars running on the narrow Monaco track at the same time, race organisers split the hour-long qualifying session into two, with one 25-minute session determining the odd-numbers of the grid, and the second 25-minute session determining the even-numbers of the grid.

Montanari, who took part in the second session, set the fastest time of the day in the dying moments of the session, just two tenths of a second faster than Dutch Jaap Van Lagen, who ran in the first session.

The overall grid proved to be extremely competitive, with one second covering places one to thirteen.

However, only 26 cars line up for the Monaco race, after four drivers have been banned from the event for dangerous driving in Thursday's practice.

DAMS driver Pastor Maldonado and Eurointernational's Matteo Meneghello have both been banned from nine races - the next four rounds and this weekend's race. However for Meneghello that includes suspended bans for two of the next four rounds.

Carlin's Andreas Zuber and Jenzer's Colin Fleming were banned from the Monaco race and will carry an additional suspended ban.

World Series by Renault - Combined Qualifying Result:

Pos Driver Team Time 1. Christian Montanari Draco Multiracing USA 1:25.465 2. Jaap Van Lagen KTR 1:25.655 3. Adrian Valles Pons Racing 1:25.680 4. Robert Kubica Epsilon Euskadi 1:25.725 5. Tristan Gommendy KTR 1:25.757 6. Milos Pavlovic GD Racing 1:25.825 7. Enrico Toccacelo Victory Engineering 1:26.315 8. Damien Pasini Cram Competition 1:26.018 9. Daniel La Rosa 1:26.388 10. Markus Winkelhock Draco Multiracing USA 1:26.214 11. Ryo Fukuda DHG Saulnier Racing 1:26.662 12. Simon Pagenaud DHG Saulnier Racing 1:26.217 13. Felix Porteiro Epsilon Euskadi 1:26.693 14. Will Power Carlin Motorsport 1:26.473 15. Giorgio Mondini Eurointernational 1:26.736 16. Celso Miguez Pons Racing 1:27.143 17. Patrick Pilet Jenzer Motorsport 1:26.956 18. Alex Lloyd DAMS 1:27.734 19. Eric Salignon Cram Competition 1:27.592 20. Giovanni Tedeschi RC Motorsport 1:27.977 21. Frederic Vervisch GD Racing 1:28.142 22. Sven Barth 1:29.261 23. Karun Chandhok RC Motorsport 1:28.614 24. Ivan Bellarosa Avelon Formula 1:29.421 25. Mehdi Bennani Avelon Formula 1:32.803 26. Tomas Kostka Victory Engineering 1:29.838 
No Monaco Ban for Maldonado

Previous article

No Monaco Ban for Maldonado

Next article

Montanari Takes Monaco Win

Montanari Takes Monaco Win
Load comments

About this article

Series Formula V8 3.5
How the post-Renault 3.5 series is shaping up Plus

How the post-Renault 3.5 series is shaping up

When Renault ended its support of its 3.5 Formula, there were fears about the category's future. But as PETER MILLS explains, the rebadged FV8 3.5 series has retained an appeal to drivers

Formula V8 3.5
Feb 3, 2016
The all-time FR3.5 top 10 Plus

The all-time FR3.5 top 10

An era ended in 2015 as Renault withdrew its backing of Formula Renault 3.5. GLENN FREEMAN and PETER MILLS pick the 10 best drivers from the World Series by Renault years

Formula V8 3.5
Jan 8, 2016
The top 10 FR3.5 drivers of 2015 Plus

The top 10 FR3.5 drivers of 2015

The 2015 Formula Renault 3.5 season will be notable for being the last with the French company's backing but also produced a worthy champion in Oliver Rowland. PETER MILLS evaluates this year's crop of drivers

Formula V8 3.5
Nov 17, 2015
Renault's ladder to Formula 1 Plus

Renault's ladder to Formula 1

Since 2005 the World Series by Renault package has launched a host of young stars on the path to Formula 1. But there's much more to the events, both on and off the track

Formula V8 3.5
Aug 13, 2015
The top 10 FR3.5 drivers of 2014 Plus

The top 10 FR3.5 drivers of 2014

The field was perhaps not as strong as in the previous season, but Carlos Sainz Jr emerged as a worthy Formula Renault 3.5 champion. GLENN FREEMAN rates the top 2014 drivers

Formula V8 3.5
Nov 11, 2014
The top 10 FR3.5 drivers of 2013 Plus

The top 10 FR3.5 drivers of 2013

There were some standout performances in the Formula Renault 3.5 title race this year, but one racer stood above all the others. GLENN FREEMAN looks back and picks out his top 10 drivers

Formula V8 3.5
Nov 15, 2013
The 2013 Formula Renault 3.5 grid guide Plus

The 2013 Formula Renault 3.5 grid guide

Last year's field was extraordinary and hard to match, but the Formula Renault 3.5 grid will still have plenty of talent this season. Glenn Freeman runs through the field ahead of this weekend's season opener

Formula V8 3.5
Apr 4, 2013
Vandoorne: future McLaren F1 star? Plus

Vandoorne: future McLaren F1 star?

Landing the Fortec seat that took rising star Robin Frijns to the 2012 FR3.5 title was already a good sign for Stoffel Vandoorne. Then McLaren took him under its wing. Peter Mills tells Vandoorne's story so far

Formula V8 3.5
Feb 20, 2013