Jerez Formula Renault 3.5: Dillmann takes maiden pole position

Carlin driver Tom Dillmann claimed his maiden Formula Renault 3.5 pole position at Jerez, ahead of champion-elect Oliver Rowland

Jerez Formula Renault 3.5: Dillmann takes maiden pole position

Dillmann was in command throughout most of the half-hour session, which was hit by blustery and occasionally damp conditions.

He moved to the top of the timing screens seven minutes in, before being briefly demoted by McLaren protege Nyck de Vries.

The DAMS driver held provisional pole for barely a minute before Dillmann produced his pole lap of 1m28.621s.

Rowland will join Dillmann on the front row for Saturday afternoon's opening race, with his Fortec team-mate Jazeman Jaafar third, having edged out championship runner-up Matthieu Vaxiviere by 0.039 seconds.

Strakka Racing's Tio Ellinas missed the early running, and only took to the track after the first of two red flag disruptions, caused when Alfonso Celis Jr stopped on track.

Ellinas recovered from the setback to qualify fifth.

Red Bull junior racer Dean Stoneman caused the second stoppage, three minutes before the scheduled chequered flag, when he found the gravel at Turn 8.

Stoneman was third at the time of the incident, which occurred when light rain started to fall, but had his fastest lap deleted for bringing out the red flags and dropped to 11th.

Following the restart, Rowland highlighted the lack of grip at Turn 8 by also running through the gravel, but kept his Racing Steps Foundation-backed car pointing in the right direction and continued.

Egor Orudzhev was the only driver to improve late, finishing the session third, but the Russian was stripped of his time for a yellow flag violation at the scene of Rowland's incident.


Pos Driver Team Time Gap
1 Tom Dillmann Jagonya Ayam with Carlin 1m28.621s -
2 Oliver Rowland Fortec Motorsports 1m28.745s 0.124s
3 Egor Orudzhev Arden Motorsport 1m28.995s 0.374s
4 Jazeman Jaafar Fortec Motorsports 1m29.132s 0.511s
5 Matthieu Vaxiviere Lotus 1m29.171s 0.550s
6 Tio Ellinas Strakka Racing 1m29.188s 0.567s
7 Nyck de Vries DAMS 1m29.300s 0.679s
8 Gustav Malja Strakka Racing 1m29.504s 0.883s
9 Nicholas Latifi Arden Motorsport 1m29.579s 0.958s
10 Beitske Visser AVF 1m29.679s 1.058s
11 Yu Kanamaru Pons Racing 1m29.690s 1.069s
12 Dean Stoneman DAMS 1m29.783s 1.162s
13 Roy Nissany Tech 1 Racing 1m29.873s 1.252s
14 Sean Gelael Jagonya Ayam with Carlin 1m29.909s 1.288s
15 Aurelien Panis Tech 1 Racing 1m29.912s 1.291s
16 Marlon Stockinger Lotus 1m29.955s 1.334s
17 Andre Negrao International Draco Racing 1m30.067s 1.446s
18 Alfonso Celis AVF 1m30.086s 1.465s
19 Nikita Zlobin Pons Racing 1m30.138s 1.517s


Jerez FR3.5: Egor Orudzhev and Matthieu Vaxiviere lead practice

Jerez Formula Renault 3.5: Oliver Rowland takes record eighth win