Formula V8 3.5's new era starts with Arden's Egor Orudzhev on pole

Double 2015 race winner Egor Orudzhev claimed pole position for the opening race of the rebranded Formula V8 3.5 championship at Aragon on Saturday

The Arden racer's final effort of 1m40.328s, recorded after the chequered flag, was sufficient to move ahead of Friday pacesetter Louis Deletraz and claim a maiden pole in the category.

Orudzhev headed the field for the majority of the half hour session, and only Fortec's reigning Formula Renault 2.0 NEC champion Deletraz offered a threat to the Russian.

Single-seater veteran Tom Dillmann finished in third place for AVF, and will line up on the second row of Saturday afternoon's grid alongside Teo Martin Motorsport runner Yu Kanamaru, who improved from eighth to fourth in the closing seconds of qualifying.

GP2 refugee Rene Binder starts fifth for the Charouz-run Lotus team, ahead of the second Teo Martin entry of Beitske Visser.

Pietro Fittipaldi took seventh spot by edging out Force India Formula 1 Friday practice driver Alfonso Celis Jr.

Last year's Formula Renault 3.5 runner-up Matthieu Vaxiviere, who finished a close second at Aragon last year, held a position in the top-three of the classification in the early stages of qualifying, but could only manage a lowly 10th place on his second run on new tyres.

The session was free from red flags, but Lotus driver Roy Nissany is under investigation.


Pos Driver Team Time Gap
1 Egor Orudzhev Arden Motorsport 1m40.328s -
2 Louis Deletraz Fortec Motorsports 1m40.341s 0.013s
3 Tom Dillmann AVF 1m40.444s 0.116s
4 Yu Kanamaru Teo Martin Motorsport 1m40.526s 0.198s
5 Rene Binder Lotus 1m40.793s 0.465s
6 Beitske Visser Teo Martin Motorsport 1m40.803s 0.475s
7 Pietro Fittipaldi Fortec Motorsports 1m40.855s 0.527s
8 Alfonso Celis AVF 1m40.931s 0.603s
9 Aurelien Panis Arden Motorsport 1m41.039s 0.711s
10 Matthieu Vaxiviere SMP Racing 1m41.109s 0.781s
11 Roy Nissany Lotus 1m41.119s 0.791s
12 Johnny Cecotto Jr. RP Motorsport 1m41.397s 1.069s
13 Vitor Baptista RP Motorsport 1m41.577s 1.249s
14 Matevos Isaakyan SMP Racing 1m41.733s 1.405s
15 Giuseppe Cipriani Durango Racing Team 1m46.396s 6.068s


Strakka puts its Formula V8 3.5 team on hold

Renault F1 protege Deletraz dominates Formula V8 3.5 opener