Baguette takes stylish Aragon win

Bertrand Baguette has scored his fourth Formula Renault 3.5 victory of the season with a superb drive from fifth on the grid at Motorland Aragon

Baguette takes stylish Aragon win

The Draco driver executed a string of precise overtaking manoeuvres to demonstrate that securing this year's drivers' crown has failed to dampen his competitive instincts.

Baguette reeled in reverse grid polesitter Oliver Turvey to take the lead at mid-distance. The Carlin driver successfully held the Belgian at bay for three laps until, on lap 15, Baguette outbraked the new iSport GP2 signing into the tight, Turn 14 hairpin.

Turvey was left to settle for second, his fifth podium of the season.

"It was a very good race for us," said Baguette. "As I had already wrapped up the drivers' title my main aim for today was to take a lot of pleasure. I have to thank the team for giving me such a good car so that I could pass so many adversaries.

"Tomorrow, I also want to help them win the teams' championship and give them the numbers one and two for next year."

Jon Lancaster finished third to make up for a disappointing meeting last time out. The Comtec driver passed fourth place starter Jaime Alguersuari into Turn 1 away from the lights, and initially followed Baguette's wheel tracks moving up the order.

Lancaster's progress was to slow when he encountered higher than expected front tyre wear over the closing stages, and was made to work for his third position by Daniil Move. The Russian P1 Motorsport driver closed to finish within 0.7s at the chequered flag, but ran out of time to relieve the Leeds driver of the final step on the podium.

The new Motorland circuit provided ample opportunity for passing. Esteban Guerrieri was the most successful exponent, gaining ten places over his starting position to finish fifth in a storming drive for RC Motorsport.

Tomorrow's feature race poleman Fairuz Fauzy came out on top in a frantic mid-race scrap with Toro Rosso F1 driver Alguersuari and Epsilon Euskadi's Chris van der Drift, and the Malaysian succeeded in passing Pons's front row starter Federico Leo for sixth three laps from home.

The battle for second place in the drivers' standings has tightened after today's race.

Tech 1 Racing's Charles Pic, who failed to add to his score today, has a fragile hold on the position with 94 points. Alguersuari has now closed to within six points, with British drivers Turvey and James Walker a further point adrift, tied on 87, ahead of Fauzy on 86.

Pos  Driver               Team               Time/Gap
 1.  Bertrand Baguette    Draco            46m17.280s
 2.  Oliver Turvey        Carlin             + 1.634s
 3.  Jon Lancaster        Comtec             + 7.750s
 4.  Daniil Move          P1                 + 8.482s
 5.  Esteban Guerrieri    RC                + 11.241s
 6.  Fairuz Fauzy         Mofaz             + 20.396s
 7.  Federico Leo         Pons              + 23.739s
 8.  Jaime Alguersuari    Carlin            + 25.319s
 9.  Chris van der Drift  Epsilon Euskadi   + 25.689s
10.  Greg Mansell         Comtec            + 25.993s
11.  Marcos Martinez      Pons              + 31.776s
12.  Filip Salaquarda     Prema             + 32.454s
13.  Charles Pic          Tech 1            + 36.395s
14.  Marco Barba          Draco             + 36.592s
15.  Brendon Hartley      Tech 1            + 39.573s
16.  Salvador Duran       Interwetten       + 44.120s
17.  Keisuke Kunimoto     Epsilon Euskadi   + 44.356s
18.  James Walker         P1                + 44.645s
19.  Guillaume Moreau     SG                + 50.349s
20.  Mihai Marinescu      Interwetten       + 51.489s
21.  Julian Leal          Prema             + 57.069s


     Bruno Mendez         RC               16 laps
     Sten Pentus          Mofaz            0 laps
     Anton Nebylitskiy    SG               0 laps

Fauzy fastest in Aragon Superpole
Previous article

Fauzy fastest in Aragon Superpole

Next article

FR 3.5 calendar announced

FR 3.5 calendar announced
How the post-Renault 3.5 series is shaping up Plus

How the post-Renault 3.5 series is shaping up

When Renault ended its support of its 3.5 Formula, there were fears about the category's future. But as PETER MILLS explains, the rebadged FV8 3.5 series has retained an appeal to drivers

Formula V8 3.5
Feb 3, 2016
The all-time FR3.5 top 10 Plus

The all-time FR3.5 top 10

An era ended in 2015 as Renault withdrew its backing of Formula Renault 3.5. GLENN FREEMAN and PETER MILLS pick the 10 best drivers from the World Series by Renault years

Formula V8 3.5
Jan 8, 2016
The top 10 FR3.5 drivers of 2015 Plus

The top 10 FR3.5 drivers of 2015

The 2015 Formula Renault 3.5 season will be notable for being the last with the French company's backing but also produced a worthy champion in Oliver Rowland. PETER MILLS evaluates this year's crop of drivers

Formula V8 3.5
Nov 17, 2015
Renault's ladder to Formula 1 Plus

Renault's ladder to Formula 1

Since 2005 the World Series by Renault package has launched a host of young stars on the path to Formula 1. But there's much more to the events, both on and off the track

Formula V8 3.5
Aug 13, 2015
The top 10 FR3.5 drivers of 2014 Plus

The top 10 FR3.5 drivers of 2014

The field was perhaps not as strong as in the previous season, but Carlos Sainz Jr emerged as a worthy Formula Renault 3.5 champion. GLENN FREEMAN rates the top 2014 drivers

Formula V8 3.5
Nov 11, 2014
The top 10 FR3.5 drivers of 2013 Plus

The top 10 FR3.5 drivers of 2013

There were some standout performances in the Formula Renault 3.5 title race this year, but one racer stood above all the others. GLENN FREEMAN looks back and picks out his top 10 drivers

Formula V8 3.5
Nov 15, 2013
The 2013 Formula Renault 3.5 grid guide Plus

The 2013 Formula Renault 3.5 grid guide

Last year's field was extraordinary and hard to match, but the Formula Renault 3.5 grid will still have plenty of talent this season. Glenn Freeman runs through the field ahead of this weekend's season opener

Formula V8 3.5
Apr 4, 2013
Vandoorne: future McLaren F1 star? Plus

Vandoorne: future McLaren F1 star?

Landing the Fortec seat that took rising star Robin Frijns to the 2012 FR3.5 title was already a good sign for Stoffel Vandoorne. Then McLaren took him under its wing. Peter Mills tells Vandoorne's story so far

Formula V8 3.5
Feb 20, 2013