Sign up for free

  • Get quick access to your favorite articles

  • Manage alerts on breaking news and favorite drivers

  • Make your voice heard with article commenting.

Autosport Plus

Discover premium content

Tokyo E-Prix: Guenther wins after late pressure from Rowland

Maximilian Guenther sustained late pressure to beat Oliver Rowland to victory in the inaugural Tokyo E-Prix, which marks the Maserati MSG driver’s first Formula E win this year.

Maximilian Günther, Maserati Racing, Maserati Tipo Folgore

Photo by: Andreas Beil

The German took the lead of the race with 10 laps remaining, having circulated inside the top three throughout and built enough of a lead to retain the top position after taking his final Attack Mode.

Having managed the pace at the head of the field, Guenther came under attack from Rowland on the final lap with the Nissan driver making three notable attempts to overtake but failing to move ahead.

Read Also:

Polesitter Rowland had led for the majority of the 35-lap race, having held the position off the line despite being forced to defend from Edoardo Mortara, who had jumped Guenther from the cleaner and grippier side of the grid.

Concern from drivers that overtaking around the tight and twisty layout would be difficult proved to be correct, which meant track position was crucial, and in stark contrast to other races, Attack Mode activations took place much later in proceedings.

The leading positions remained unchanged for much of the opening segment, but when Mortara was forced to defend into the Turn 6 right-hander from Guenther on lap 10, the small break allowed Rowland to take his first of two Attack Modes the following lap and retain the lead.

Mortara also took his extra boost of power on the same lap, promoting Guenther up a position before he found himself in the lead when Rowland took his second Attack Mode on lap 13.

Guenther dropped down to third on lap 14 after taking his first Attack Mode, but immediately moved back into second after passing Mortara on the run into Turn 16.

Thereafter, Guenther shadowed Rowland, and when the Nissan driver lifted off to save energy on the run into the Turn 10/11 chicane, Guenther took a lead he was never to relinquish.

Behind, reigning champion Jake Dennis finished third after an overtake on Antonio Felix da Costa three laps from the end when the Porsche driver lost momentum after an optimistic move around the outside of Rowland into Turn 15.

The Portuguese driver retained fourth at the flag ahead of team-mate Pascal Wehrlein, who had lost ground after running side by side with Dennis through the final sequence of corners, which pushed him back two positions mid-race.

Mortara had dropped to sixth at the flag after taking his final Attack Mode just five laps from the end, but he was disqualified post-race for energy over usage.

It promoted Andretti's Norman Nato to sixth and Abt’s Nico Muller to seventh, with Jaguar’s Nick Cassidy taking eighth having recovered from a starting position of 19th.

It was a difficult day for team-mate Mitch Evans, as the Kiwi finished 14th after stopping for a new front wing following contact with Robin Frijns into Turn 6, the debris bringing out a safety car as the race was extended by two laps.

Frijns also lost his front wing after contact with Nato at the same corner, with the Frenchman initially handed a five-second penalty that dropped him from sixth and out of the points.
However, this was rescinded post-race after onboard footage was provided to the stewards that showed neither driver was predominantly to blame.
It meant Nato was classified sixth from Cassidy and Frijns, with Sergio Sette Camara (ERT) completing the top 10.

Japan 2024 Tokyo E-Prix

Cla Driver # Laps Time Interval km/h Points Retirement
1 Germany M. Gunther Maserati Racing 7 35


2 United Kingdom O. Rowland Nissan e.Dams 22 35



0.755   21  
3 United Kingdom J. Dennis Andretti Formula E 1 35



0.650   15  
4 Portugal A. Felix da Costa Porsche Team 13 35



0.417   12  
5 Germany P. Wehrlein Porsche Team 94 35



2.075   10  
dq Switzerland E. Mortara Mahindra Racing 48 35



6 Switzerland N. Müller Team Abt 51 35



0.629   8  
7 New Zealand N. Cassidy Jaguar Racing 37 35



0.559   6  
8 Netherlands R. Frijns Envision Racing 4 35



0.387   4  
9 Brazil S. Sette Camara ERT Formula E Team 3 35



0.575   2  
10 France S. Fenestraz Nissan e.Dams 23 35



0.512   1  
11 France J. Vergne DS Penske 25 35



12 Switzerland S. Buemi Envision Racing 16 35



13 United Kingdom J. Hughes McLaren 5 35



14 New Zealand M. Evans Jaguar Racing 9 35



15 France N. Nato Andretti Formula E 17 35



16 Belgium S. Vandoorne DS Penske 2 35



17 India J. Daruvala Maserati Racing 18 35



18 United Kingdom D. Ticktum ERT Formula E Team 33 35



19 United Kingdom S. Bird McLaren 8 34

+1 Lap


1 Lap      
dnf Brazil L. di Grassi Team Abt 11 17

+18 Laps


17 Laps     Retirement
dnf Netherlands N. de Vries Mahindra Racing 21 17

+18 Laps


0.537     Retirement

Be part of the Autosport community

Join the conversation
Previous article Tokyo E-Prix: Rowland grabs pole for Nissan's home event
Next article Rowland: Formula E victory in Tokyo "was on the table"

Top Comments

There are no comments at the moment. Would you like to write one?

Sign up for free

  • Get quick access to your favorite articles

  • Manage alerts on breaking news and favorite drivers

  • Make your voice heard with article commenting.

Autosport Plus

Discover premium content