Sign up for free

  • Get quick access to your favorite articles

  • Manage alerts on breaking news and favorite drivers

  • Make your voice heard with article commenting.

Autosport Plus

Discover premium content

Berlin E-Prix: Da Costa seals Porsche home win after beating Cassidy

Antonio Felix da Costa claimed victory at Porsche’s home event in the weekend’s second Berlin E-Prix, as Formula E championship leader Nick Cassidy extended his points lead.

Antonio Felix da Costa, Porsche, Porsche 99X Electric Gen3

Photo by: Dom Romney / Motorsport Images

The Portuguese driver took his second win on-the-road of the season in Germany, after also winning in Misano before he was disqualified due to a technical infringement, having led the majority of the race.

Cassidy, who took victory in the opening race at the Tempelhof Airport circuit on Saturday, finished second on Sunday having snatched the position away from Nissan’s Oliver Rowland with two laps to go.

Polesitter Jake Dennis initially held the lead off the line but into the fast-sweeping left of Turn 1, fellow front-row starter Cassidy pulled ahead and led the race over the opening three laps.

At the earliest opportunity, Cassidy took his first of two Attack Modes, the total duration just four minutes for the second race of the weekend as all drivers outside the top 10 also took the same strategy.

While events remained frenetic due to the peloton style of racing, maintaining some semblance of track position was noticeably more important in the sequel with the Porsche, Jaguar and Andretti machines occupying the leading positions.

As in the prequel, Maximilian Guenther found himself in the wall on lap 11 having been hit into Turn 2 which lodged his front wing under the Maserati MSG car.

Despite Guenther rejoining before eventually retiring, a three-lap safety car was deployed with racing back underway on lap 14.

Photo by: Andrew Ferraro / Motorsport Images

Cassidy notably made a move to the front of the pack two laps later, having passed Evans and Wehrlein into the triple left-hand bends to end the lap before surging past da Costa into Turn 1.

The Kiwi held position at the front for four laps before da Costa moved back ahead on lap 21, where he remained for a large portion of the race.

He only conceded the lead to Mitch Evans, who, like in the first race in Berlin, was one of the last drivers to take his final Attack Mode.

This he did on lap 36 of 41, the total duration extended by three laps due to the two safety car periods.

The second had occurred on lap 25 when Norman Nato and Sacha Fenestraz collided into Turn 3, with the latter eliminated and the former handed a 10-second penalty.

As Evans took his second Attack Mode he rejoined battling Cassidy over third, which cost the Kiwi pairing valuable time in their attempts to chase down Rowland and da Costa ahead.

Cassidy surged into third four laps from the end around the outside into Turn 6/7 on Evans, and picked the same spot to move ahead of Rowland a lap later.

Photo by: Dom Romney / Motorsport Images

But by now da Costa had built a lead of almost one second, an advantage he managed until the chequered flag as he finished 0.691s ahead of Cassidy, with Rowland a further two seconds adrift.

Behind the top three, Evans lost any chance of a podium after running wide at Turn 6, which allowed Pascal Wehrlein and Dennis to move ahead.

The Porsche and Andretti driver eventually finished fourth and fifth having battled hard throughout and which involved several moments of contact.

Evans finished sixth ahead of Maserati MSG’s Jehan Daruvala and Taylor Barnard, the McLaren driver scoring his second points finish of the weekend having moved as high as sixth at one stage.

Envision’s Joel Eriksson secured ninth, while podium finisher on Saturday, Jean-Eric Vergne, claimed the final point in 10th having been one of the last runners to use both Attack Modes.

Formula E Berlin E-Prix Two Result

Cla Driver # Laps Time Interval km/h Points Retirement
1 Portugal A. Felix da Costa Porsche Team 13 41


2 New Zealand N. Cassidy Jaguar Racing 37 41



3 United Kingdom O. Rowland Nissan e.Dams 22 41



4 Germany P. Wehrlein Porsche Team 94 41



5 United Kingdom J. Dennis Andretti Formula E 1 41



6 New Zealand M. Evans Jaguar Racing 9 41



7 India J. Daruvala Maserati Racing 18 41



T. Barnard McLaren
8 41



9 Sweden J. Eriksson Envision Racing 4 41



10 France J. Vergne DS Penske 25 41



11 Brazil L. di Grassi Team Abt 11 41



12 United Kingdom J. Hughes McLaren 5 41



13 Brazil S. Sette Camara ERT Formula E Team 3 41



P. Aron Envision Racing
16 41



15 South Africa K. van der Linde Team Abt 51 41



16 Switzerland E. Mortara Mahindra Racing 48 41



17 United Kingdom D. Ticktum ERT Formula E Team 33 41



18 United Kingdom J. King Mahindra Racing 21 41



19 France N. Nato Andretti Formula E 17 41



20 Belgium S. Vandoorne DS Penske 2 41



dnf France S. Fenestraz Nissan e.Dams 23 24

+17 Laps


17 Laps     Retirement
dnf Germany M. Gunther Maserati Racing 7 10

+31 Laps


14 Laps     Retirement

Be part of the Autosport community

Join the conversation
Previous article Berlin E-Prix: Dennis takes first Formula E pole of 2024 after stunning turnaround
Next article Wehrlein: Formula E Berlin contact with Dennis "should not happen"

Top Comments

There are no comments at the moment. Would you like to write one?

Sign up for free

  • Get quick access to your favorite articles

  • Manage alerts on breaking news and favorite drivers

  • Make your voice heard with article commenting.

Autosport Plus

Discover premium content