Lewis Hamilton wins BBC Sports Personality award after F1 title

Formula 1 world champion Lewis Hamilton added another accolade to his 2014 season by winning the BBC Sports Personality of the Year award on Sunday

Hamilton, who been runner-up in the BBC vote after both his astonishing F1 debut in 2007 and his first title in '08, became the first motorsport winner of the award since Damon Hill's 1996 triumph.

He came out ahead of golf's world number one Rory McIlroy in the public vote.

"I am so speechless," said Hamilton, whose BBC accolade follows his triumph in both the International Racing Driver and British Competition Driver of the Year categories at last weekend's AUTOSPORT Awards.

"Firstly I really want to say a huge congratulations to all the champions, I'm so proud and honoured to be amongst such great British sporting talent.

"I want to say a huge thank you to all the people who called in. I really wasn't expecting it - [McIlroy] was having such an amazing year.

"Tonight has been a huge reminder of how many great sportsmen we have here. I never thought I'd be standing up here. It's just a dream.

"Thank you to all the fans. I always feel we win and lose together because I feel your love when you come to all the races.

"I'm proud to carry the Union Jack and I hope I can continue to make you proud."

Although no racing driver had won the outright Sports Personality crown for 18 years, four-time F1 champion Sebastian Vettel took the Overseas award in 2013, and Jenson Button - the '09 Sports Personality runner-up - was Newcomer of the Year at the end of his F1 rookie season in 2000.

Hamilton's constructors' title winning Mercedes squad was shortlisted for the 2014 Team of the Year award, but lost out to the England team that won rugby's women's world cup.

But there was more success for a recent motorsport convert as Sir Chris Hoy was presented with a Lifetime Achievement Award for his legendary cycling career.

Hoy raced in British GT this season and is moving up to prototypes next year with an LMP3 campaign in the 2015 European Le Mans Series.

Previous article Kimi Raikkonen insists tough 2014 F1 season at Ferrari no surprise
Next article Steve Nielsen joins Williams F1 team after leaving Toro Rosso