Formula 1 alters grand prix start times after Jules Bianchi crash

Formula 1 chiefs have shifted the start times of five grands prix for 2015 as a result of the lessons learned from Jules Bianchi's Japanese Grand Prix crash last year

Formula 1 alters grand prix start times after Jules Bianchi crash

The investigation panel that looked into the circumstances surrounding Bianchi's Suzuka accident recommended that future daytime F1 races should not start when there is a risk of running in fading light conditions.

It stated: "It is proposed that a regulation or guideline be established such that the start time of an event shall not be less than four hours before either sunset or dusk, except in the case of night races."

Although no change to the rules was put in place - with the FIA comfortable that it would never allow races to continue when it felt it was too dark - there has still been a tweak to several start times to avoid the risk of trouble.

The times for Australia (now 4pm), Malaysia (3pm), China (2pm), Japan (2pm) and Russia (2pm) are all one hour earlier than they were in 2014.

All the events had previously run later because of a desire to ensure that they were broadcast at a time more suitable for European television audiences.

Bianchi remains in hospital in France as the result of the serious head injuries he sustained when he struck a recovery vehicle that was retrieving Adrian Sutil's Sauber.

The start times of all the 2015 races are:

15/03 Australia: 16:00 (UK: 05:00)
29/03 Malaysia: 15:00 (UK: 08:00)
12/04 China: 14:00 (UK: 07:00)
19/04 Bahrain: 18:00 (UK: 16:00)
10/05 Spain: 14:00 (UK: 13:00)
24/05 Monaco: 14:00 (UK: 13:00)
07/06 Canada: 14:00 (UK: 19:00)
21/06 Austria: 14:00 (UK: 13:00)
05/07 Britain: 13:00
19/07 Germany: 14:00 (UK: 13:00)
26/07 Hungary: 14:00 (UK: 13:00)
23/08 Belgium: 14:00 (UK: 13:00)
06/09 Italy: 14:00 (UK: 13:00)
20/09 Singapore: 20:00 (UK: 13:00)
27/09 Japan: 14:00 (UK: 06:00)
11/10 Russia: 14:00 (UK: 12:00)
25/10 United States: 14:00 (UK: 19:00)
01/11 Mexico: 13:00 (UK: 19:00)
15/11 Brazil: 14:00 (UK: 16:00)
29/11 Abu Dhabi: 17:00 (UK: 13:00)

shares
comments
Is Verstappen really ready for F1?
Previous article

Is Verstappen really ready for F1?

Next article

New Force India F1 car will not run at first Jerez test

New Force India F1 car will not run at first Jerez test
The inconvenient truth about F1’s ‘American driver’ dream Plus

The inconvenient truth about F1’s ‘American driver’ dream

OPINION: The Formula 1 grid's wait for a new American driver looks set to continue into 2023 as the few remaining places up for grabs - most notably at McLaren - look set to go elsewhere. This is despite the Woking outfit giving tests to IndyCar aces recently, showing that the Stateside single-seater series still has some way to go to being seen as a viable feeder option for F1

How a bad car creates the ultimate engineering challenge Plus

How a bad car creates the ultimate engineering challenge

While creating a car that is woefully off the pace is a nightmare scenario for any team, it inadvertently generates the test any engineering department would relish: to turn it into a winner. As Mercedes takes on that challenge in Formula 1 this season, McLaren’s former head of vehicle engineering reveals how the team pulled of the feat in 2009 with Lewis Hamilton

Formula 1
Aug 15, 2022
The under-fire F1 driver fighting for his future Plus

The under-fire F1 driver fighting for his future

Personable, articulate 
and devoid of the usual
 racing driver airs and graces,
 Nicholas Latifi is the last Formula 1 driver you’d expect to receive death threats, but such was the toxic legacy of his part in last year’s explosive season finale. And now, as ALEX KALINAUCKAS explains, he faces a battle to keep his place on the F1 grid…

Formula 1
Aug 13, 2022
The strange tyre travails faced by F1’s past heroes Plus

The strange tyre travails faced by F1’s past heroes

Modern grand prix drivers like to think the tyres they work with are unusually difficult and temperamental. But, says  MAURICE HAMILTON, their predecessors faced many of the same challenges – and some even stranger…

Formula 1
Aug 12, 2022
The returning fan car revolution that could suit F1 Plus

The returning fan car revolution that could suit F1

Gordon Murray's Brabham BT46B 'fan car' was Formula 1 engineering at perhaps its most outlandish. Now fan technology has been successfully utilised on the McMurtry Speirling at the Goodwood Festival of Speed, could it be adopted by grand prix racing once again?

Formula 1
Aug 11, 2022
Hamilton's first experience of turning silver into gold Plus

Hamilton's first experience of turning silver into gold

The seven-time Formula 1 world champion has been lumbered with a duff car before the 2022 Mercedes. Back in 2009, McLaren’s alchemists transformed the disastrous MP4-24 into a winning car with Lewis Hamilton at the wheel. And now it’s happening again at his current team, but can the rate of progress be matched this year?

Formula 1
Aug 11, 2022
Why few could blame Leclerc for following the example of Hamilton’s exit bombshell Plus

Why few could blame Leclerc for following the example of Hamilton’s exit bombshell

OPINION: Ferrari's numerous strategy blunders, as well as some of his own mistakes, have cost Charles Leclerc dearly in the 2022 Formula 1 title battle in the first half of the season. Though he is locked into a deal with Ferrari, few could blame Leclerc if he ultimately wanted to look elsewhere - just as Lewis Hamilton did with McLaren 10 years prior

Formula 1
Aug 9, 2022
The other McLaren exile hoping to follow Perez's path to a top F1 seat Plus

The other McLaren exile hoping to follow Perez's path to a top F1 seat

After being ditched by McLaren earlier in his F1 career Sergio Perez fought his way back into a seat with a leading team. BEN EDWARDS thinks the same could be happening to another member of the current grid

Formula 1
Aug 8, 2022