Ex-F1 racer and WEC driver Stephane Sarrazin wins ERC finale

Sometime Formula 1 racer Stephane Sarrazin claimed his first international rally victory by defeating Bryan Bouffier in the European Rally Championship finale in Corsica

Now a full-time part of Toyota's World Endurance Championship line-up, Sarrazin was a factory Subaru World Rally Championship driver in 2005/06, and has made occasional Intercontinental Rally Challenge/ERC appearances alongside his sportscar commitments in recent years.

Corsica was his first top-line rally of the 2014 season, and he led the majority of the event in a First Motorsport-run Ford Fiesta.

A Sarrazin victory looked unlikely on Friday as 2013 Corsica winner Bouffier charged onto his tail following a minor puncture delay.

But Sarrazin felt his poor pace was simply due to a rogue tyre choice, and on Saturday he pulled away from Bouffier again.

A quick spin for Bouffier on the penultimate stage settled things in Sarrazin's favour, and he won by 18.9 seconds.

Kevin Abbring completed the podium in the factory Peugeot, while team-mate Craig Breen retired with transmission problems on leg one.

ERC champion Esapekka Lappi crashed on the opening day.

His Skoda team-mate Sepp Wiegand failed to make the event at all after an accident and fire in testing, which settled the title battle in Lappi's favour before the rally had even begun.

While a Toyota LMP1 driver won, Porsche WEC racer Romain Dumas finished fifth overall in the marque's 911 R-GT car, which will feature in the FIA's new mini-series for GT rally cars in 2015.




Pos Driver Points
1 Esapekka Lappi 162
2 Sepp Wiegand 128
3 Craig Breen 104
4 Kajetan Kajetanowicz 100
5 Vaclav Pech 63
6 Kevin Abbring 63
7 Bryan Bouffier 61
8 Bruno Magalhaes 54
9 Vasily Gryazin 53
10 Robert Consani 50


ERC Corsica: Stephane Sarrazin leads Bryan Bouffier on rally return

Craig Breen will go for 2015 ERC title after renewing Peugeot deal