BTCC Rockingham: Morgan beats Tordoff and Cammish to land first pole

Ciceley Motorsport Mercedes driver Adam Morgan scored his maiden British Touring Car Championship pole position at Rockingham in a thrilling qualifying session

The 29-year-old wrested top spot from the Motorbase Performance Ford Focus of Sam Tordoff in the dying minutes, bagging the top slot by 0.102 seconds.

Free practice pacesetter Dan Cammish was third in his Team Dynamics Honda Civic Type R.

Morgan, who is ninth in the points, was delighted with the result.

"It's taken six years and it feels like a win," he said. "Now I can tick the box, I'm over the moon. We knew we had it in us, it's just taken forever to get there.

"The car does feel good and our race pace is stronger than our qualifying pace. We're not carrying much weight and we're feeling racy."

Tordoff was frustrated to have missed out on top slot, but said his performance would help him rebound after a difficult weekend a fortnight ago at Snetterton.

"We've made a big step since Snetterton. We just couldn't get it to work there," said Tordoff.

"We've gone and done our homework in the last fortnight and followed a different direction. Hopefully we'll continue in the same vain tomorrow."

Cammish, meanwhile, was raging as he stepped from his Honda, feeling that he had been badly held up on his fast laps.

"Every time I tried a lap I was caught in traffic," he said. "I may as well have been on the M1 and I was just tearing my hair out by the end. We have got a fast car, but unfortunately it unravelled around us.

"I don't know what some of them are doing out there, and I should have put Stephen [Jelley, Team Parker Racing BMW driver] in the wall. He just drove right in front of me."

Mike Bushell claimed fourth spot in his much-improved Team Hard VW CC, ahead of BTC Norlin Racing Honda Civic Type R pair Dan Lloyd and Chris Smiley.

Championship leader Tom Ingram, carrying 75kg of success ballast, was fifth after the opening runs, but suffered two successive tyre blowouts as he rejoined the circuit in a bid to improve his time and ended up in 13th position in his Speedworks Motorsport Toyota Avensis.

That was one place behind the WSR BMW 125i M Sport of Colin Turkington, which was fitted with 66kg of success ballast.

Jack Goff could only qualify his Eurotech Racing Honda Civic Type R, which is fourth in the points and has 48kg of ballast, 23rd after again struggling with the handling of his machine.

Both fared better than Matt Neal, who is third in the standings. He will start in 29th in his Team Dynamics Civic after an engine change between the end of free practice and the start of qualifying.

The last-minute job meant that the set-up of the hatchback, with its 57kg of ballast, could not be refined in time for him to take to the circuit. He also suffered a couple of lock ups, which restricted his pace.

Qualifying result

Pos Driver Team Car Time Gap
1 Adam Morgan Ciceley Motorsport Mercedes 1m22.835s -
2 Sam Tordoff Motorbase Ford 1m22.937s 0.102s
3 Dan Cammish Team Dynamics Honda 1m23.086s 0.251s
4 Mike Bushell Team Hard Volkswagen 1m23.163s 0.328s
5 Daniel Lloyd BTC Norlin Honda 1m23.215s 0.380s
6 Chris Smiley BTC Norlin Honda 1m23.221s 0.386s
7 Tom Chilton Motorbase Ford 1m23.252s 0.417s
8 Brett Smith Eurotech Racing Honda 1m23.263s 0.428s
9 Jason Plato Team BMR Subaru 1m23.274s 0.439s
10 Ash Sutton Team BMR Subaru 1m23.283s 0.448s
11 Andrew Jordan WSR BMW 1m23.319s 0.484s
12 Colin Turkington WSR BMW 1m23.321s 0.486s
13 Tom Ingram Speedworks Toyota 1m23.346s 0.511s
14 Matt Simpson Eurotech Racing Honda 1m23.347s 0.512s
15 Aiden Moffat Laser Tools Racing Mercedes 1m23.350s 0.515s
16 Sam Smelt AmD Tuning Audi 1m23.356s 0.521s
17 Senna Proctor Power Maxed Racing Vauxhall 1m23.377s 0.542s
18 Bobby Thompson Team Hard Volkswagen 1m23.475s 0.640s
19 Ollie Jackson AmD Tuning Audi 1m23.491s 0.656s
20 Rory Butcher AmD Tuning MG 1m23.532s 0.697s
21 Josh Cook Power Maxed Racing Vauxhall 1m23.569s 0.734s
22 Tom Oliphant Ciceley Motorsport Mercedes 1m23.593s 0.758s
23 Jack Goff Eurotech Racing Honda 1m23.614s 0.779s
24 Rob Austin HMS Racing Alfa Romeo 1m23.629s 0.794s
25 James Cole Motorbase Ford 1m23.671s 0.836s
26 Ricky Collard WSR BMW 1m23.784s 0.949s
27 Michael Caine Team Hard Volkswagen 1m23.789s 0.954s
28 Stephen Jelley Team Parker Racing BMW 1m23.823s 0.988s
29 Matt Neal Team Dynamics Honda 1m23.870s 1.035s
30 Glynn Geddie AmD Tuning MG 1m24.619s 1.784s
31 Ollie Pidgley Team Hard Volkswagen 1m24.793s 1.958s

Previous article BTCC Rockingham: Cammish fastest across two practice sessions
Next article BTCC Rockingham: Morgan dominates first race in tricky conditions