BMR's Ashley Sutton doubles up with second BTCC Croft win

BMR's Ashley Sutton made it back-to-back wins in the second British Touring Car Championship race of the weekend at Croft

The defending champion repeated his success from the opening race with a measured drive that saw him lead the majority of the 15 laps, bringing him to within 50 points of the championship lead.

When the lights went out it was the third-placed Toyota of Tom Ingram that made the best start to lead into Turn 1, but the Speedworks driver wasn't able to get away up front as Sutton kept him honest through the opening lap.

Heading into the final hairpin at the end of the second lap, Sutton saw his chance to go for the lead and slid up the inside into the left-hander to move ahead.

Despite carrying maximum ballast on his car, Sutton was able to start edging away from Ingram behind as the Toyota driver had to contend with pressure from Colin Turkington behind.

It meant a relatively straightforward second win of the day for the defending champion; the first driver to achieve the feat this season.

"I wouldn't speak too soon but it's looking good, the car has been phenomenal and it felt awesome," said Sutton. "I know the final corners are prime for traction and Tom didn't make it too hard.

"I had to push to get the gap and it helped when he was under pressure but he's doing well with a front-wheel drive car."

The battle for second would run for the entirety of the race, with Ingram forced to place his car in the perfect position lap after lap to keep Turkington at bay.

The WSR driver had run fourth on the opening lap before inheriting a place when Jason Plato was hit with a drivethrough penalty for a false start.

There was no way to get ahead of Ingram, however, with Turkington forced to settle for third when the chequered flag dropped.

Unable to keep pace with the top three ahead, Sam Tordoff was fourth-best for Motorbase as he repeated his strong result from the opening race, although he saw his advantage over Andrew Jordan cut in the closing laps.

Jordan had spent the first half of the race dicing for position with team-mate Rob Collard but got ahead with a fine move at Tower mid-way through the race, just before Collard had a spin at Hawthorn that forced him to pit with a puncture.

Tom Chilton in the second of the Fords was able to benefit from Collard's misfortune as he raced well through from 15th to take sixth.

The former World Touring Car Championship racer was one of several drivers to make the most of a moment for team-mate James Cole on the opening lap that split the midfield pack.

Matt Neal, who lost time on the opening lap avoiding Cole's spinning car, recovered to seventh with Senna Proctor, Dan Lloyd and Rory Butcher rounding out the top 10.

Lloyd will start the final race from pole position thanks to the reverse grid draw.

Aside from Plato and Collard, the race would prove to be problematic for a number of drivers, with Josh Cook forced to retire after he dramatically went off into the field at Tower at high-speed on the opening lap.

Adam Morgan's wretched day continued as he was hit with a drivethrough penalty that meant he once again failed to score.

Race two result

Pos Driver Team Car Gap
1 Ash Sutton Team BMR Subaru 21m56.436s
2 Tom Ingram Speedworks Toyota 4.284s
3 Colin Turkington WSR BMW 4.604s
4 Sam Tordoff Motorbase Ford 5.147s
5 Andrew Jordan WSR BMW 6.573s
6 Tom Chilton Motorbase Ford 11.754s
7 Matt Neal Team Dynamics Honda 13.653s
8 Senna Proctor Power Maxed Racing Vauxhall 14.112s
9 Daniel Lloyd BTC Norlin Honda 14.387s
10 Rory Butcher AmD Tuning MG 21.701s
11 Dan Cammish Team Dynamics Honda 22.310s
12 Chris Smiley BTC Norlin Honda 23.238s
13 Tom Oliphant Ciceley Motorsport Mercedes 26.658s
14 Jason Plato Team BMR Subaru 27.090s
15 Rob Austin HMS Racing Alfa Romeo 27.391s
16 Aiden Moffat Laser Tools Racing Mercedes 31.605s
17 Matt Simpson Eurotech Racing Honda 37.039s
18 Jack Goff Eurotech Racing Honda 40.730s
19 Adam Morgan Ciceley Motorsport Mercedes 41.010s
20 Stephen Jelley Team Parker Racing BMW 41.025s
21 Brett Smith Eurotech Racing Honda 41.341s
22 Mike Bushell Team Hard Volkswagen 43.776s
23 James Cole Motorbase Ford 44.404s
24 Sam Smelt AmD Tuning Audi 44.943s
25 Ollie Jackson AmD Tuning Audi 50.843s
26 Jake Hill Team Hard Volkswagen 53.167s
27 Bobby Thompson Team Hard Volkswagen 1 Lap
28 Rob Collard WSR BMW 2 Laps
- Josh Price Team BMR Subaru Retirement
- Michael Caine Team Hard Volkswagen Retirement
- Tom Boardman AmD Tuning MG Retirement
- Josh Cook Power Maxed Racing Vauxhall Retirement

Previous article Croft BTCC: Ash Sutton scores first win of 2018 in Subaru one-two
Next article Croft BTCC: Dan Lloyd and BTC Norlin take first series win