Yvan Muller leads Nurburgring Nordschleife WTCC test session

Yvan Muller was fastest in Thursday's World Touring Car Championship test session on the Nurburgring Nordschleife ahead of Citroen team-mate Jose Maria Lopez

Muller and Lopez traded times for the majority of the hour-long session on the famous track, with Frenchman Muller eventually setting a fastest time of 8m39.950s after the session time had expired to usurp Honda's Rob Huff.

Lopez found more time shortly afterwards to split the pair.

Huff improved his time with five minutes to go - setting what at the time had been the fastest second, third and fourth sectors - to jump to the head of the leaderboard with a 8m42.220s.

But Muller blitzed the Briton's effort a couple of minutes later, going a full 2.270 seconds quicker in his Citroen C-Elysee before Lopez also bumped Huff down.

Tiago Monteiro was fourth behind Honda team-mate Huff, 2.292s off the Briton's pace, while Tom Chilton was fifth in his Sebastien Loeb Racing C-Elysee and the fastest independent driver.

The third factory Honda Civic of Norbert Michelisz and Lada's Hugo Valente separated Chilton from team-mate Mehdi Bennani, the Moroccan ending the session eighth-fastest having spent much of the hour in the top five.

Thed Bjork was ninth fastest, with both he and Polestar team-mate Fredrik Ekblom opting to focus on the set-up of their Volvo S60s during the session.

Nicky Catsburg was 10th ahead of Lada team-mate Gabriele Tarquini, while Munnich Motorsport stand-in and Nurburgring specialist Sabine Schmitz was 12th.

Tom Coronel picked up a puncture around a quarter of the way through just his second lap and was 13th.


Pos Driver Team Car Time Gap Laps
1 Yvan Muller Citroen Racing Citroen 8m39.950s - 4
2 Jose Maria Lopez Citroen Racing Citroen 8m40.827s 0.877s 4
3 Rob Huff Honda Racing Team JAS Honda 8m42.220s 2.270s 5
4 Tiago Monteiro Honda Racing Team JAS Honda 8m44.512s 4.562s 6
5 Tom Chilton Sebastien Loeb Racing Citroen 8m45.380s 5.430s 4
6 Norbert Michelisz Honda Racing Team JAS Honda 8m46.095s 6.145s 3
7 Hugo Valente LADA Sport Lada 8m46.947s 6.997s 4
8 Mehdi Bennani Sebastien Loeb Racing Citroen 8m47.471s 7.521s 4
9 Thed Bjork Polestar Cyan Racing Volvo 8m48.901s 8.951s 4
10 Nicky Catsburg LADA Sport Lada 8m49.923s 9.973s 4
11 Gabriele Tarquini LADA Sport Lada 8m51.260s 11.310s 4
12 Sabine Schmitz Munnich Motorsport Chevrolet 8m55.508s 15.558s 4
13 Tom Coronel ROAL Motorsport Chevrolet 8m55.547s 15.597s 2
14 John Filippi Campos Racing Chevrolet 8m59.742s 19.792s 2
15 Gregoire Demoustier Sebastien Loeb Racing Citroen 9m03.509s 23.559s 4
16 Ferenc Ficza Zengo Motorsport Honda 9m31.200s 51.250s 3
17 Fredrik Ekblom Polestar Cyan Racing Volvo 13m30.382s 4m50.432s 3

Previous article Polestar Volvo poised to ramp up WTCC development programme
Next article WTCC Nordschleife: Lopez quickest in FP1 as Huff crashes