WTCC Morocco: Rob Huff leads Honda 1-2-3 in the wet

Rob Huff led home a Honda 1-2-3 to clinch his second World Touring Car Championship win of the season with a controlled performance in the wet in Marrakech

WTCC Morocco: Rob Huff leads Honda 1-2-3 in the wet

Rain before the start threatened to wreak havoc and the intensity meant wet tyres were the only viable option.

Huff held his lead from pole and while the gap between himself and team-mate Norbert Michelisz fluctuated during the middle phase of the race, Huff always looked in control.

Michelisz hounded his team-mate after a sluggish start to the race but was forced to settle for second, finishing 0.611 seconds back to achieve his third podium of the season.

The Hungarian's slow start to the race allowed the third factory Honda Civic of Tiago Monteiro to briefly squeeze up into second through Turn 1, but better exits for both Michelisz and Citroen's Jose Maria Lopez relegated Monteiro to fourth by Turn 3.

Lopez appeared to be well-placed after the opening handful of laps, but he soon fell back into Monteiro's clutches and a mistake under braking before the back straight on lap five handed Monteiro the position back.

The Argentinian stayed with the train of Civics but could not find a way past, crossing the line a second and a half behind Monteiro.

Yvan Muller was a distant fifth behind his team-mate in the second Citroen C-Elysee, the Frenchman having to fend off Lada's Gabriele Tarquini in the final laps.

Hugo Valente was seventh in the second Lada Vesta, he and team-mate Tarquini having made contact as the Italian forced his way through to sixth.

Valente finished comfortably clear of Mehdi Bennani, who salvaged points once again after a difficult qualifying session on Saturday.

James Thompson scored two points after an entertaining tussle with Tom Coronel, with Tom Chilton also getting by the race-one winner to finish 10th.


Pos Driver Team Car Gap
1 Jose Maria Lopez Citroen Racing Citroen 34m34.047s
2 Yvan Muller Citroen Racing Citroen 7.206s
3 Gabriele Tarquini LADA Sport Lada 7.807s
4 Hugo Valente LADA Sport Lada 29.793s
5 Mehdi Bennani Sebastien Loeb Racing Citroen 33.433s
6 James Thompson Munnich Motorsport Chevrolet 34.512s
7 Nicky Catsburg LADA Sport Lada 43.985s
8 Tom Coronel ROAL Motorsport Chevrolet 1m02.113s
9 John Filippi Campos Racing Chevrolet 1m05.006s
10 Thed Bjork Polestar Cyan Racing Volvo 1 Lap
11 Fredrik Ekblom Polestar Cyan Racing Volvo 1 Lap
- Rob Huff Honda Racing Team JAS Honda Disqualified
- Norbert Michelisz Honda Racing Team JAS Honda Disqualified
- Tiago Monteiro Honda Racing Team JAS Honda Disqualified
- Tom Chilton Sebastien Loeb Racing Citroen Disqualified
- Ferenc Ficza Zengo Motorsport Honda Disqualified
- Gregoire Demoustier Sebastien Loeb Racing Citroen Retirement


WTCC Morocco: Tom Coronel holds off Jose Maria Lopez to win

Second investigation launched into Honda World Touring Car floors