WTCC Hungaroring: Bennani takes first 2017 win after Huff penalty

Mehdi Bennani took his first World Touring Car Championship victory of 2017 in the second race at the Hungaroring, as polesitter Rob Huff was handed a penalty for contact

Sebastien Loeb Racing driver Bennani took the lead at the start and despite briefly relinquishing that advantage to Huff after an early safety car, it proved to be inconsequential as Huff was forced to serve a drive-through penalty for a first lap incident.

Bennani duly managed the gap back to Nicky Catsburg over the remainder of the race to snatch his first win since the Qatar season finale last year.

Huff tried to squeeze across to the right at the start of the race but could not prevent Bennani from taking the lead, while the Volvos of Catsburg and Nestor Girolami were also able to squirrel up the Briton's inside on the run to Turn 1.

Munnich Motorsport man Huff then braked late into Turn 2 but ran into the back of Catsburg, forcing the Dutchman into the side of team-mate Girolami who stopped on the outside of the corner as a result.

That necessitated the appearance of the safety car for two laps but as the race resumed Huff was hit with a penalty for the Turn 2 incident and, despite briefly taking the lead back from Bennani with a fine move at Turn 9, was forced to dive into the pits at the end of lap four.

That left Catsburg chasing Bennani at the front, but despite initial warnings about his Citroen C-Elysee's brakes Moroccan Bennani gradually edged away at the front from the Volvo - laden with 80 kilograms of success ballast.

Catsburg did come back at the Sebastien Loeb Racing driver in the closing laps but could not offer a real challenge and eventually finished 0.654 seconds behind Bennani, who became the fifth different winner from six races at the start of the 2017 season.

Bennani's SLR team-mate Tom Chilton jumped Honda's Norbert Michelisz at the start of the race and inherited third as a result of the Turn 1 altercation and Huff's subsequent penalty, a position he held to the finish to deny Hungarian Michelisz a home podium.

Michelisz's Honda team-mate Tiago Monteiro finished a comfortable fifth to consolidate his championship lead, the Portuguese backing up his race one victory with further points having started the main affair from ninth.

Esteban Guerrieri had started the race form third but dropped back off the line and finished sixth in his Campos Racing Chevrolet Cruze, ahead of the third Volvo S60 Polestar of Thed Bjork.

Yann Ehrlacher again finished a lonely eighth, while Huff's recovery drive was limited to 10th as he tailed ROAL Motorsport driver Tom Coronel over the line.


Pos Driver Team Car Gap
1 Mehdi Bennani Sebastien Loeb Racing Citroen 33m21.822s
2 Nicky Catsburg Polestar Cyan Racing Volvo 0.654s
3 Tom Chilton Sebastien Loeb Racing Citroen 3.553s
4 Norbert Michelisz Honda Racing Team JAS Honda 7.309s
5 Tiago Monteiro Honda Racing Team JAS Honda 9.532s
6 Esteban Guerrieri Campos Racing Chevrolet 10.875s
7 Thed Bjork Polestar Cyan Racing Volvo 11.865s
8 Yann Ehrlacher RC Motorsport Lada 14.547s
9 Tom Coronel ROAL Motorsport Chevrolet 20.783s
10 Rob Huff Munnich Motorsport Citroen 21.212s
11 John Filippi Sebastien Loeb Racing Citroen 28.110s
12 Kevin Gleason RC Motorsport Lada 31.760s
13 Ryo Michigami Honda Racing Team JAS Honda 36.852s
14 Aurelien Panis Zengo Motorsport Honda 51.021s
- Daniel Nagy Zengo Motorsport Honda Retirement
- Nestor Girolami Polestar Cyan Racing Volvo Retirement


Pos Driver Points
1 Tiago Monteiro 123
2 Nicky Catsburg 85
3 Tom Chilton 81
4 Thed Bjork 77
5 Mehdi Bennani 73
6 Rob Huff 65
7 Esteban Guerrieri 62
8 Norbert Michelisz 62
9 Nestor Girolami 52
10 Tom Coronel 20
11 Yann Ehrlacher 10
12 John Filippi 7
13 Kevin Gleason 2
14 Aurelien Panis 2
15 Daniel Nagy 1
16 Ryo Michigami 1


WTCC Hungaroring: Monteiro victory extends championship lead

WTCC Nordschleife: Michelisz survives puncture scare to top FP1