Sebastien Loeb gets Buriram WTCC win after Tiago Monteiro excluded

Sebastien Loeb has inherited the win in the second World Touring Car Championship race at Buriram in Thailand after Tiago Monteiro was excluded for a technical infringement

Sebastien Loeb gets Buriram WTCC win after Tiago Monteiro excluded

The announcement of Honda driver Monteiro's exclusion came seven hours after he had taken his third victory of a season in a race that was stopped early when darkness fell.

Monteiro's Civic failed a ground clearance check, with the left-hand side of the car found to be below the required minimum of 60 millimetres.

Honda intends to appeal the decision to the FIA International Court of Appeal.

Loeb, who was reeling Monteiro in at the time of the red flag, gets his fourth triumph of the year in a Citroen 1-2-3 ahead of Ma Qing Hua and Jose Maria Lopez.

The change moves Loeb ahead of team-mate Yvan Muller and into second in the standings behind Lopez, who had earlier secured his second straight WTCC title by winning race one.

Muller was eliminated from both races by first-lap contact.


Pos Driver Team Car Gap
1 Sebastien Loeb Citroen Total WTCC Citroen 16m41.918s
2 Ma Qinghua Citroen Total WTCC Citroen 5.722s
3 Jose Maria Lopez Citroen Total WTCC Citroen 10.534s
4 Tom Chilton ROAL Motorsport Chevrolet 11.753s
5 Gabriele Tarquini Honda Racing Team JAS Honda 12.014s
6 Rob Huff LADA Sport Rosneft Lada 12.609s
7 Mehdi Bennani Sebastien Loeb Racing Citroen 13.056s
8 Stefano D'Aste Munnich Motorsport Chevrolet 16.239s
9 Tin Sritrai Campos Racing Chevrolet 17.643s
10 Gregoire Demoustier Craft-Bamboo Racing Chevrolet 18.163s
11 John Filippi Campos Racing Chevrolet 21.684s
12 Norbert Michelisz Zengo Motorsport Honda 33.000s
- Tiago Monteiro Honda Racing Team JAS Honda Disqualified
- Yvan Muller Citroen Total WTCC Citroen Retirement
- Tom Coronel ROAL Motorsport Chevrolet Not started
- Hugo Valente Campos Racing Chevrolet Not started
- Nicky Catsburg LADA Sport Rosneft Lada Not started
- Nicolas Lapierre LADA Sport Rosneft Lada Not started


Pos Driver Points
1 Jose Maria Lopez 441
2 Sebastien Loeb 329
3 Yvan Muller 324
4 Ma Qinghua 213
5 Gabriele Tarquini 191
6 Norbert Michelisz 172
7 Tiago Monteiro 171
8 Rob Huff 103
9 Tom Chilton 96
10 Hugo Valente 95
11 Mehdi Bennani 95
12 Tom Coronel 39
13 Nicky Catsburg 38
14 Stefano D'Aste 28
15 Jaap van Lagen 16
16 James Thompson 6
17 Nicolas Lapierre 6
18 John Filippi 6
19 Nestor Girolami 5
20 Gregoire Demoustier 5
21 Rickard Rydell 4
22 Tin Sritrai 3
23 Sabine Schmitz 1


Buriram WTCC: Honda's Tiago Monteiro wins as darkness stops race

Honda appeals Monteiro WTCC exclusion, blames collision damage