Lowndes On Barbagallo Pole

Craig Lowndes has taken his second consecutive pole position for this weekend's V8 Supercar racing at Barbagallo Raceway in Western Australia

Lowndes took pole in the top ten shootout in his Ford after being third fastest in qualifying. Alongside him, also for the second consecutive round, will be reigning series champion Marcos Ambrose, the duo twice clashing early in races at the last round at Pukekohe.

Mark Skaife was fastest in qualifying but slipped to fourth behind the consistent Steven Richards, with Cameron McConville just behind them in fifth, a trio of Holdens behind the Ford front row. Pukekohe round winner Greg Murphy will start from eighth in his Holden.

31 cars in the 32 car field qualified within three-quarters of a second of pole position, with the order continuing to be mixed up - Max Wilson qualifyied thirteenth just behind Russell Ingall, while first round pole sitter Rick Kelly will start from 24th.

Elsewhere in the field, Craig Baird and Paul Dumbrell, whose spectacular collision caused a red flag in the third race at Pukekohe, will start one place apart in 30th and 31st respectively.

A 120km race will be held later today followed by a pair of 140km races on Sunday.

Perth V8 400 Qualifying Results, Barbagallo Raceway, Wanneroo:

Pos  Driver              Car
 1.  Craig Lowndes       Ford Falcon BA
 2.  Marcos Ambrose      Ford Falcon BA
 3.  Steven Richards     Holden Commodore VY
 4.  Mark Skaife         Holden Commodore VZ
 5.  Cameron McConville  Holden Commodore VZ
 6.  Jason Bright        Ford Falcon BA
 7.  Garth Tander        Holden Commodore VZ
 8.  Greg Murphy         Holden Commodore VZ
 9.  Greg Ritter         Ford Falcon BA
10.  Steve Ellery        Ford Falcon BA
11.  Glenn Seton         Ford Falcon BA
12.  Russell Ingall      Ford Falcon BA
13.  Max Wilson          Holden Commodore VZ
14.  Paul Weel           Holden Commodore VZ
15.  Todd Kelly          Holden Commodore VZ
16.  Paul Radisich       Holden Commodore VZ
17.  Jason Richards      Holden Commodore VZ
18.  John Bowe           Ford Falcon BA
19.  Jamie Whincup       Holden Commodore VZ
20.  Steven Johnson      Ford Falcon BA
21.  Paul Morris         Holden Commodore VZ
22.  Simon Wills         Holden Commodore VZ
23.  Mark Winterbottom   Ford Falcon BA
24.  Rick Kelly          Holden Commodore VZ
25.  Jason Bargwanna     Ford Falcon BA
26.  David Besnard       Ford Falcon BA
27.  Andrew Jones        Holden Commodore VZ
28.  Brad Jones          Ford Falcon BA
29.  Matthew White       Ford Falcon BA
30.  Craig Baird         Ford Falcon BA
31.  Paul Dumbrell       Holden Commodore VZ
32.  Anthony Tratt       Holden Commodore VY

Previous article Dumbrell Penalised for NZ Incident
Next article Skaife Wins Race One