Sepang MotoGP: Jorge Lorenzo edges Dani Pedrosa in practice two

Jorge Lorenzo took over from Dani Pedrosa at the top of the times in second practice for MotoGP's Malaysian Grand Prix at Sepang

Just as in the opening session, Pedrosa had come out on top of an early battle with Honda team-mate Marc Marquez to head the field.

This time there was a final shootout before the end though, and Yamaha rider Lorenzo took charge with four minutes remaining with a 2m00.246s lap.

Marquez followed Lorenzo across the line to go second, but he was pushed down to third by Pedrosa by the flag.

Pedrosa finished up 0.047 seconds down on Lorenzo.

Andrea Iannone crashed his Ducati just seven minutes into the afternoon at Turn 8, but actually spent much of the session sitting second to Pedrosa after emerging on his second bike.

He ended up fourth, within two hundredths of a second of Marquez.

Cal Crutchlow completed a strong Friday on his newly-liveried LCR Honda by taking fifth ahead of Aleix Espargaro and Andrea Dovizioso.

Championship leader Valentino Rossi had to make do with eighth place after pitting late on to have his tyres switched over to his second bike.

He returned to the track with only enough time to complete an out-lap and an in-lap, leaving him a second off the pace.

Danilo Petrucci was ninth, just ahead of Scott Redding.


Pos Rider Team Bike Time Gap Laps
1 Jorge Lorenzo Yamaha Yamaha 2m00.246s - 15
2 Dani Pedrosa Honda Honda 2m00.293s 0.047s 18
3 Marc Marquez Honda Honda 2m00.472s 0.226s 16
4 Andrea Iannone Ducati Ducati 2m00.486s 0.240s 14
5 Cal Crutchlow LCR Honda 2m01.039s 0.793s 15
6 Aleix Espargaro Suzuki Suzuki 2m01.058s 0.812s 15
7 Andrea Dovizioso Ducati Ducati 2m01.127s 0.881s 14
8 Valentino Rossi Yamaha Yamaha 2m01.305s 1.059s 16
9 Danilo Petrucci Pramac Racing Ducati 2m01.598s 1.352s 15
10 Scott Redding Marc VDS Honda 2m01.607s 1.361s 14
11 Maverick Vinales Suzuki Suzuki 2m01.796s 1.550s 15
12 Hector Barbera Avintia Racing Ducati 2m01.796s 1.550s 13
13 Pol Espargaro Tech 3 Yamaha 2m01.850s 1.604s 16
14 Bradley Smith Tech 3 Yamaha 2m02.101s 1.855s 19
15 Stefan Bradl Aprilia Gresini Aprilia 2m02.118s 1.872s 16
16 Eugene Laverty Aspar Honda 2m02.426s 2.180s 17
17 Nicky Hayden Aspar Honda 2m02.427s 2.181s 16
18 Yonny Hernandez Pramac Racing Ducati 2m02.554s 2.308s 13
19 Alvaro Bautista Aprilia Gresini Aprilia 2m02.626s 2.380s 16
20 Mike Di Meglio Avintia Racing Ducati 2m03.480s 3.234s 16
21 Jack Miller LCR Honda 2m03.485s 3.239s 15
22 Toni Elias Forward Racing Yamaha Forward 2m03.710s 3.464s 15
23 Loris Baz Forward Racing Yamaha Forward 2m03.731s 3.485s 15
24 Anthony West AB Motoracing Honda 2m04.892s 4.646s 15
25 Damian Cudlin IodaRacing Project ART/Aprilia 2m06.962s 6.716s 4

Previous article Sepang MotoGP: Dani Pedrosa tops practice one for Honda
Next article Sepang MotoGP: Jorge Lorenzo flies in third practice